Home > Uncategorized > Captain America: The Winter Soldier — A Non-Review

Captain America: The Winter Soldier — A Non-Review

I didn’t get a chance to go see Captain America: The Winter Soldier like I hoped. I wanted to post my review, but I will have to wait until next weekend.

Instead, leg me go ahead and tell you that I will like the movie. I know enough about it and myself to know this is true.

So, let me say something about the relationship between Cap and those who follow Christ. We are more alike than most would think.

If you don’t know the basics of Cap’s story, it goes down like this: Captain America saved America by crashing a plane in the Arctic during World War II. Years later he is found and due to the Super Soldier Serum, he was in suspended animation in the ice until he was found. He then helps form The Avengers and make a bazillion dollars at the box office. I remember first reading this story in the 70’s, minus the movie success.

So, how is Captain America similar to those of us who follow Christ? Imagine for a minute going to sleep in 1945 and then waking up now. Would you feel out of place in this world?

There are a lot of things that I love about our modern world. For instance, this is this first blog post that I have written entirely on my iPhone. How incredible is it that we have this ability?

Yet, there is an innocence that each year and each decade lose compared to those before it.

A few years ago a survey was done of the team I managed. One of the criticisms of me was that my morals were anachronistic.

Trust me, I felt like Steve Rogers at that moment. I wondered if there was a place for me in this world.

This movie, from what I can tell, explores that theme to a degree. Steve Rogers wonders exactly how he can live in a world that he was not born into.

We who follow Christ have been born again. We are born into another world. The world we live is one we are not designed for.

Much like Captain America.

Do you ever feel out of place in this world?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. robshep
    April 7, 2014 at 4:00 am

    Yes. Sometimes I feel very awkward in the world.

  2. philsname32
    April 7, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    Good analogy in this post Larry! I agree and can relate. You’re going to love the movie, it’s my favorite out of all the avenger related movies.

  3. Wildcard608
    April 7, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    “Yet, there is an innocence that each year and each decade lose compared to those before it.”

    I struggle to see what this “innocence” is and we should mourn it’s passing. Unless you are literally talking about the innocence of childhood you and those you know have all experienced. Are you?

    • April 7, 2014 at 9:56 pm

      Do you mind if I ask how old you are?

      • Wildcard608
        April 7, 2014 at 10:04 pm

        I suppose not, I am in my twenties. I don’t feel I have been immature with my posts on this blog do you? I asked because I have known people for most of my life who share my point of view that the world is continuously getting better.

        I am not posting here in an attempt to get a rise out of anyone if that is what, I come across as I apologize. I am here to discuss a different point of view.

      • April 7, 2014 at 10:14 pm

        No, I was just trying to get a frame of reference. I’m 45. While I think most things have been around for centuries, I have watched a lot of change. Just for example, All In The Family was a shocking TV show in the early 70’s when I was a kid. Now, it would raise the eyebrows it did then. The envelope has to be pushed each passing year to shock and titillate.

        I would say that it is the same for music, as I have gone back and listened to music through the decades.

        Whether those things are a sign of things getting better is a matter of perspective. I don’t think there is any doubt that they have lost innocence along the way.

        Are we better off in many other ways? Absolutely. Have we lost out in many others? Yeah, I think so.

  4. Wildcard608
    April 7, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    Yes but I don’t understand what we have lost. I have heard others on the internet say as much but not any in real life. Not from parents or the relatives who are Christian, not from my friends and neighbors. Most of the people of that age I’ve met in my daily working and social life have expressed happiness out of how things have changed from a values or technological standpoint.

    What I am getting at is I literally have no frame of reference. I know of literally no one in my life who yearns for the 60-70s except on a personal level such as a beloved pet still being around, or missing their school days etc.

    • April 7, 2014 at 10:52 pm

      Then you haven’t ever met my wife.

      I would say that everyone I know lives the technological and many other advances. But I don’t know a whole lot of people who are truly happier than they were.

      I could dip into old fogeyism, but here’s the real deal. I don’t know of one advance in my married life that truly makes me happy. Why? Because none of those things are what makes me happy.

      So, I see things getting better. Ok. But as I get older I long for something beyond what this world can give me. And since I believe in Christ, then I echo Paul when he says to live is Christ and to die is gain. I long to go home . I don’t look forward to dying, but Death isn’t such a big deal anymore.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

