Home > Christianity, Faith > When Did Christ Come To Know Me?

When Did Christ Come To Know Me?

There is something I say from time to time.  In fact, I think a lot of people say it.  It goes something like this.

“I came to know Christ in ______” or “I did such and such before I came to know Christ.”

There’s just one problem.  I don’t know that this statement is entirely accurate.

I’m not saying that we don’t come to know Christ.  It’s just that if someone asks me when I came to know Christ, it might be the wrong question.

The better question might be to ask when did Christ come to know me.

*****

Wouldn’t you hate to be one of those people who come to Christ?  You know, the kind that Christ says will.

The Bible says that they will come to Christ telling about all they have done for Christ.  They have done great works in His name.  They will have cast out demons.  They will have performed miracles in His name.

He will say, “Depart, I never knew you.”

How heartbreaking will that be?  People who thought that they knew Christ, yet He never knew them.

*****

Once I entered a relationship with Christ, I realized that I didn’t know Him at all.  I knew a lot about Jesus.

I was twenty-five years old.  I had been in church all of my life.  I was a soon-to-be father.  We were poor, but excited.

God broke the door of my heart down one day at lunch.  There hadn’t been any knocking.  I had tried to open that door myself for some time, but I didn’t have the ability to do so.

Suddenly, it was open.  His glory shown through and filled my soul.  I threw myself on His mercy, knowing that I was not worthy.

His Son picked me up, saying that He had made it ok with His Father for me.  What did I do?  I believed and trusted.

He smiled at me and told me that He had been planning for this moment before the foundation of the world.  He showed me a book that had my name in it.  He said that it was ancient, but that my name had been written in it then, before space and time existed.

He said that He had known me before anyone could had ever thought to think of those who could think of those who could think of those who could think of me.

When did Christ come to know me?  When did He not know me?

When did Christ come to know you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. April 9, 2014 at 6:11 am

    Reminded me of Psalm 139. He has always known us intimately. I read an interesting quote from Bob Goff yesterday…”No one leads people to Jesus; He leads people to Himself. All the pressure’s off; just love everybody. No agenda.”

  2. April 9, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Gotta think about this one Larry. I know He knew and knows me. I am shaky on the election thingy. (I do agree with Eileen’s quote though from Bob Goff).

    • April 9, 2014 at 7:06 am

      Bill, this is the internet. If you don’t totally agree with me on this, then we need to publicly fight and put on a show for everyone. 🙂

  3. April 9, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    I really like that Bob Goff quote! Thanks Eileen!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

