Home > Christianity, Faith > A 14:26 Love

A 14:26 Love

A few weeks ago something happened.  It happens every year.  It’s called Valentine’s Day.

I wrote a tweet that day that said something like this:

The love symbolized by this day is wonderful, but it is but a shadow of the love Christ has for us.

The problem that I find that we have, though, is that for too many of us, the love we see, feel and experience does not go beyond the love of Valentine’s.

Christ expects us to love in an entirely different manner than that.  He said that anyone who doesn’t hate his father, mother, wife, children, brothers and sisters and his own life could not be His disciple.

Most of us understand may have a sort of understanding of what Jesus means.  He expects our love for others to look like hate in comparison to our love for Him.  Intellectually, we understand what this means, but I think fart too few of us understand what it means practically.

A reality television star drew some flack a while back because of something she said about her husband and children.  Basically, she said that her husband was more important to her than her children.  While many criticized her for saying this, what she seemed to imply was that loving her husband was the best way that she could love her children.

It seems that when we get down to what Jesus is really saying, He is saying the same thing.  The best and greatest way to love our father, mother, wife and everyone else is to love Him so much that our love for these others looks like hate.

The question, of course, becomes exactly how we do this?

I confess that I don’t know exactly.  I’m not completely there.  I, often, feel like I’m on the first few steps of the journey.

But that’s what Jesus said next wasn’t it?  That the one who wants to be His disciple must take up his own cross and follow Him.

In other words, we must embrace the means of our own death and execution and pursue Him.  He is leading.  We are following.

That’s all I have figured out so far.  Maybe I’ll learn more as I go along.  Then again, maybe it’s that simple.

He leads.  We follow.

We develop a Luke 14:26 kind of love.

Do you have a 14:26 love?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. April 14, 2014 at 5:42 am

    I would like to say I do have that kind of love. At times I think I do but not consistently. As for the reality star: she is actually right. The best thing I could do for my girls was love their mom.

  2. April 14, 2014 at 6:17 am

    I think it is that simple! We as humans have tendency to intellectualize too much and overlook the simple truth. Love God with all your heart and love others as he has loved you.

    Walk with God at your side!

    Ed

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

