Home > Christianity, Faith > Therefore….

Therefore….

A while back I was reading a passage in 2 Corinthians at church.  I think my pastor referenced it during his sermon.

This wasn’t the point of the passage, but what stood out to me was that the word Therefore was used about seven times in the chapter.

Therefore is not an unusual word.  Paul uses it in other places.  It was just the amount of times that it was used that seemed unusual.  Paul would write a small paragraph.  Then he would begin the next one with therefore.  Then again.  Then again.  Then again.

Paul would build a case.  It would lead to a result.  Then to another result.  And so on.

I wondered what the therefores are in our lives.

You lost a parent at a young age.  Therefore.

Your spouse left you.  Therefore.

You were laid off from your job.  Therefore.

You became a parent.  Therefore.

Insert whatever scenario you want.  Therefore follows, whether it’s implicit or explicit.

It really comes down to what we decide to do with the situation.

I had a situation happen to me when I was younger.  My therefore was that I let it affect me negatively.  I thought my therefore was that I could use this event as an excuse for all sorts of bad thoughts and behavior.  Finally, I cane to my senses and decided enough was enough.  I wasn’t going to be a slave to this one thing any longer.  Therefore.

When I was almost twenty-six, I realized that I had never truly put my faith in Jesus Christ.  I did one day at lunch.  Therefore.

I had a bad attitude in my job and it was holding me back about ten years ago.  Someone helped me see this.  I slowly changed it.  Therefore.

I was in a bad church situation for years.  I prayed that God would get me out of it.  Finally, He did, albeit in a much more painful way than I expected.  Therefore.

Therefore is a powerful word.  It is full of infinite possibilities and fraught with danger.  It is a fork in the road.  It is not as simple as Yogi Berra’s response of taking the fork.  Which direction we take is incredibly important.  It will shape out lives for years to come.

They say that when people headed west in wagon trains there were signs that said to choose their ruts carefully.  They would be in them for years to come.  The same can be said of our therefores.

Which will you choose?

Have you found that you have chosen good and bad therefores in your life?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. April 17, 2014 at 4:50 am

    I was always told to ask “what is a therefore there for?” Helped me see there was a bigger picture (as you have pointed out). And yes, I have chosen good and bad therefores in my life.

  2. April 17, 2014 at 6:14 am

    It’s a choice we make everyday. I definitely had to make a choice to take good from bad following an illness my wife suffered a while ago. The illness has actually given me a compassion and empathy for others facing similar challenges.

  3. April 17, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Yes to both. I think the vast majority of my therefores seem to be working out. That’s more of a reflection of God’s grace than my choices though. He is awesome. Therefore.

  4. April 17, 2014 at 4:07 pm

    I have and still could try to stand on the therefore of so many hurts. But I choose to see the therefore as a spring board to take Calvary’s road. Yes I have failed but therefore He still loves me and gives mercy in my weakness. Good post brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

