Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith > Why All The Church Angst?

Why All The Church Angst?

I read a lot of blogs and follow a lot of folks on Twitter.  It’s an interesting world that I find myself immersed in much of the time.

One of the things I find as I flit in and out of certain blogs is that there is a lot of angst that surrounds the church.  It seems that there are a lot of folks that have been troubled during their church lives.

I suppose I understand it a bit.  I don’t have a lot of happy memories from my youth in the church.  It wasn’t because the church really did anything to me.

I didn’t have a lot of friends in the youth group and always felt like an outsider.  That had as much to do with me and how I saw myself as with them.

Sure, there was an unfortunate incident where a youth minister and I had words.  I didn’t go back to the youth group, but I had already made my way out of the group.

I was marginally in church during my college years.  I went because I was supposed to, but never considered giving it up.  Once I was married, we settled into a church and made friends.  Once our daughter was born, we moved to another church and was there for the best part of seventeen years.

I wasn’t happy there in that church for the last eight years.  I blamed the preaching and the music and as many other reason as I could find.  We finally left, but once I settled down I realized what the real problem was.

I was trying to make the church into what I wanted it to be rather than what Christ created it to be.

I think this is the problem with so many of those who decide to grind their ax on the church in their blogs and tweets.  And by so many of those, I include myself at one time.

Angst is great for teenage and young adult novels.  Comic books full of teenagers full of kids bitten by radioactive spiders?  Awesome.

The church?  Not so much.

You see, the church doesn’t always act like the Church.  I think we all know that by now.  But that’s not the end of it.

The Church almost always inhabits the church.  You know what?  That’s a beautiful things.

The church, nor the Church, isn’t anyone’s punching bag.  No, it’s so much more.

It’s the Body of Christ here on earth whereby we see proof of the Living God.

It’s the Bride of Christ, dressed in His righteousness, waiting on the wedding that is to come.

Angst?  It has no place amongst His Body or Bride.

Let’s banish it.  Now.  Right now.  It doesn’t belong.  Let’s not let it linger.

How would you help rid the Church of the angst that some wish to bring it?

  1. viaractus
    April 21, 2014 at 4:27 am

    Another thing people fail to realise is the difference between the church militant and triumphant. The church here is in an ongoing process, individually and as a whole, to be purified and made clean. That process will only be completed in Heaven.

    That is perhaps a part of why Paul asked us to look to Jesus as the Author and Finisher of our faith. When we look to ourselves, we are only reminded of what humanity’s made up of all along. But grace shines such a light on the work and power of God as he changes us and makes us more like him.

    Thanks Mr. Deu… uh Larry.

  2. April 21, 2014 at 8:17 am

    Get rid of everybody. LOL. That would solve the whole problem. Then the church would be perfect. ‘Course we know that ain’t going to happen. I think people need to realize how deep down selfish we all are in wanting our own way.

    • April 23, 2014 at 6:09 am

      The church would be great if it wasn’t for all the people 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

