Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Lessons Learned

Lessons Learned

I learned an important lesson during these first three and one-half months this year, especially when it comes to blogging.

My friend, Jim Woods, calls me the Cal Ripken Jr. of the blogging world.  I don’t buy that, but I’ve let him tell me that several times.  He and I joke about how I show up every day to bring a post to you.

I’m going to let you, and Jim, in on a little secret.  It’s how I learned this valuable lesson.

I really haven’t written much lately.

Yes, I keep posting, but most of the posts this year were written in December and January.  At one point, I was exactly three months ahead of the game.

Now, as I write this one, I have almost an entire week empty.  I don’t have a huge stockpile of posts ready to go.

Here’s the problem that I ran into.  Here’s the lesson I learned.

When I get too far ahead of the game, I get lazy.  I don’t feel the pressure to publish.  This doesn’t mean that I don’t want to have some margin, but I don’t need to get too far ahead of myself.

I also learned that I kind of painted myself into a corner.  I wasn’t able to be as flexible when I really wanted to write something that was relevant to the time period.  I could have written it and postponed something else, but, again, begin ahead of the game caused me to be a little lazy with it.

So, I’ve about caught up to myself.  I’m only about a week ahead.  That’s about as far out as I want to get.

This episode reminds me of what James is talking about when he says the guys should say, “If the Lord wills, we’ll do this or that.” (My paraphrase)

I’m going to write and publish.  If the Lord wills.

  1. April 22, 2014 at 5:42 am

    3 months! I am fortunate enough to get a day or two ahead!

  2. Ricky Anderson
    April 22, 2014 at 7:25 am

    The most I was ever ahead was two days. Now I go ages between posts. Margin is good.

  3. April 22, 2014 at 9:21 am

    I like to stay a couple of days ahead but I rarely do. Most of the time I’m day to day.

    • April 23, 2014 at 6:07 am

      I think I just want a few in hip pocket going forward

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

