Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Off Kilter

Off Kilter

My life has been off kilter this week.

(From The Daily Dish)

(From The Daily Dish)

I have been traveling for my job.  It’s the first time I’ve done this since 2005, so nearly a decade.

I have been off-balance all week.

My sleep has been off.  The food I have eaten is different.  My entire system has been thrown off.

Guess what?  My relationship with the Lord has been off as well.

I just haven’t been able to focus in on this with my prayer time and Bible reading.

There were two ways I could have gone.  I could have beaten myself up pretty good.

Or I could do what I have done.  I’ve asked for additional grace.  I’ve asked for peace.

You would think that since I already have had grace extended to me that I wouldn’t bother with that.  Except for what Paul always tells us.

In basically every epistle, he tells those he’s writing to “Grace to you and peace.’

If Paul wishes grace and peace to those reading his words two thousand years ago, then I think I need my share of that too.

I need grace.  Grace for my failures and grace for myself.

I need peace, because it’s been a week of turmoil.  My life hasn’t been normal.  I miss my family.

Grace and peace to me.  I’m grabbing those words from Paul.  I’m making them my own.  I’m going to need them later today on a two-hour flight.

How do deal with being off kilter in your life?  Will you pray for me?  I’m going to be flying from Houston to Knoxville sometime today.  I don’t even know when as I write this.  Thanks!!!

  1. jamiekocur
    April 25, 2014 at 7:09 am

    It takes the smallest thing to throw me off kilter. When it happens, I do what you do. Give myself a little grace. Tomorrow’s a new day.

    Prayers for a safe flight home. There is nothing like your own bed.

  2. April 25, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    I’ve been there too, Larry. You take me out of my routine and it’s easy for me to start feeling this way too. Glad He is more than happy to give us that grace and peace.

  3. April 26, 2014 at 9:29 am

    We travel a lot Larry so this one hit home for me. Hard as I try I always get a little off kilter. Giving myself grace because God does is how I keep from feeling guilty and getting depressed or angry over it. Actually we are traveling for the next three weeks, slept in two different beds so far. Will pray for you brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

