Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > What Goggles Are You Wearing?

What Goggles Are You Wearing?

Who knows?  I don’t know for sure, but I probably would have tried to hide parts of my life when I first started this blog nearly three years ago.  Maybe, for sure, when I first started down the path of sharing back in 2008.

Not now.  While not trying to glorify it, I participated in activities that didn’t exactly bring glory to God.  There was a Country song when I was a kid by Mickey Gilley.  It had a line that went something like this: Don’t the girls all get prettier at closing time.

Let’s just say that as the evenings went on during my youth, I put on a certain pair of goggles that sent me down the path of Mickey’s song.  How I managed to stay out of any more trouble than I did get in is evidence to me that, even then, the Lord had His hand on my life.

My pastor flips this script a bit every so often in his sermons.  He tells us to put on another set of goggles.

Our God goggles.

What does that look like?

You might offer Living Water to a woman who has been married multiple times and is living with a man who isn’t her husband.

You might scribble in the dirt when a woman caught in adultery is dragged out for you to judge.

You might offer healing to a woman who has suffered all of her life from a terrible condition.

These are all things that Jesus did.  He didn’t just put His God goggles on when He woke up every morning.  He never took them off.  He wore them each and every day.  He showed us what it looked like to wear God goggles so that we would have an example to live by.

What else did He do?

He said drink Living water.

He said to go and sin no more.

He said be healed.

Jesus wore His God goggles.

What goggles are you wearing?

  1. April 29, 2014 at 9:13 am

    When I take the time in the morning, I try to make sure my God goggles are on. Even when i don’t, I try.

    • April 29, 2014 at 10:47 am

      Well I hope it works for you. I just think this is more along the lines of basic compassion than faith. But most of these suggestions are good Christian, Atheist, Gay, Straight, charity itself should be unconditional.

      • April 29, 2014 at 11:05 am

        AJ, I think that’s the whole point of Christ. I think He’s the only way to get there. I’ve looked deep enough into my own heart to see that I can’t do it, and I think I’m like most people of the world.

    • April 29, 2014 at 11:01 am

      Bill, the only way I know how to do that is to stay in the word. And pray. I know and have proven to myself that I can’t do it through willpower or my own devices.

    • April 29, 2014 at 11:30 am

      [quote]AJ, I think that’s the whole point of Christ. I think He’s the only way to get there. I’ve looked deep enough into my own heart to see that I can’t do it, and I think I’m like most people of the world. [/quote]

      I don’t know, I’ve met some awesome Charitable people of all sorts of faiths and I’ve met Christ followers who are unforgiving and say everybody suffering must deserve it. I do wish to know though if giving and forgiveness are not exclusively Christian trait than why do you feel Christ is the only way to get there.

      • April 29, 2014 at 10:06 pm

        I believe Christ is God. He said He is the way, the truth and the life. If he’s not, he was a liar or lunatic. I don’t buy that.

        Are there people out there who are awesome if I use my standards as the measure? Sure. Are there people who go to church and make a statement of faith who are terrible? Sure. I just know enough about the darkness that has been within me to know that everyone who people think are awesome and good really aren’t if we peeled the onion. And, unfortunately, there are people who walked an aisle and mouthed some prayers who think that made them ok.

        I know that there was nothing good enough within me to meet God’s standards. Christ did that for me. He made me a new creation. He paid the debt for my sins.

    • April 30, 2014 at 5:19 am

      Bill, I have no doubts that you’re wearing them.

  2. April 29, 2014 at 9:21 am

    “You might offer healing to a woman who has suffered all of her life from a terrible condition.”

    Man if you are telling the truth I’d like to live where it is “offered” instead of “forced”.

    “You might scribble in the dirt when a woman caught in adultery is dragged out for you to judge.”

    Your referring to that “pass the first stone” story?

    Regardless this is good advice, a Christian, (or anyone’s) charity should be unconditional. As some one who has benefited from the help of others to not do the same in return for others who would need it would just be wrong.

    • April 29, 2014 at 11:02 am

      Well, I certainly don’t think there is any way to force any of that on anyone. Yes, the first stone story, though I’ve never thought of it that way.

      • April 29, 2014 at 11:07 am

        Downright shocking to hear honestly. I was around a lot of people who thought I could be forced out of being gay thinking it was a “Terrible Condition” and made their best attempts too. Yet you don’t think many people in your life would do the same if you had been gay?

        If so you were lucky and I am glad you were.

      • April 29, 2014 at 9:57 pm

        Even though I believe that homosexuality is a sin, that is not remotely close to my concern about anyone. My concern is that someone becomes a follower of Christ. Everything else will take care of itself. I would rather love you and tell you that you need Christ, just like I did and do, than tell you that you have to change to come to Him. I’m not in the changing business. He is.

  3. April 29, 2014 at 10:36 am

    I hope my world view is shaped by God goggles.

    • April 29, 2014 at 11:03 am

      Rob, I’ve worn enough other goggles to know I want God goggles.

    • April 30, 2014 at 5:19 am

      Rob, I think you’re wearing you’re goggles.

  4. April 29, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    So I talked to a Christian a while ago on another site and she claimed that Atheists have a bad moral code, that she was fit to judge Atheists while I was not fit to judge Christians, that Atheists choose to disbelief out of malice and that even partially doubting that Jesus was the Son of God was a Sin.

    While I did not take her remarks seriously however, it did make me think of something. How do you know your interpretation of what is compassionate is the same as God’s? He did feel it necessary to flood the world to make it more pure, so what makes you sure that your interpretation of the faith is correct? I suppose Yeshua’s views could do that but I don’t recall whether or not he actually called himself the Son of God or his followers said so after the fact.

    I also am quite concerned with how many are not willing to “live and let live” and instead try to pass laws or keep laws that force one to live a Biblical Life like the many politicians who tried to make engaging in Un-Biblical sex acts that are between two consenting adults a felony. If indeed your version of compassion is there not more Christians speaking out against these kinds of things?

    • April 29, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      Like I said earlier, what particular acts we engage in are not my first concern. My concern is that you know Jesus.

      Let’s for argument sKe say you believe the Biblical flood record. If so, then you know that Noah spent a century building the ark before God judged the worrld through the flood. That is an incredibly compassionate thing. Noah spent 100 years building the ark and warning people of what was coming. They had an opportunity to repent.

      That is the type of compassion I want to display. To love people so much that I tell them that they have a Way of escape from the wages of sin in Christ. To be their friend so much that no matter what they do, I will be there for them and offer them Jesus each step of the way. No matter what.

      • April 29, 2014 at 10:40 pm

        While I thank you for compassion that did not answer my questions. If you feel my questions are not put in the appropriate place I can change that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

