Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Pow! Pow! Pow!

Pow! Pow! Pow!

If you’ve been around this blog for a while, you might know that I am a big fan of Doctor Who.  2013 was the 50th anniversary of the show.  Back in November a dramatization of the origins of the Doctor was shown.  It was called An Adventure In Time And Space.

The creator of the show was the inspiration for what began a show that has survived a half-century.  He would come up with a minimal idea and basically tell it to the producer, followed by a “Pow! Pow! Pow!.”  That was his version of a swat on the tail, leaving her to the work.

And it took a lot of people.  It took the producer, writers, set crews, designers, you name it.  It began with the Pow! Pow! and ended with a lot of hard work by a lot of people.  It didn’t end with the inspiration.  It began there, but it resulted in a lot of hard work.

I used to think I could just depend on the Pow! Pow! Pow! to carry me through writing a blog.  I would sit around all week waiting for inspiration to hit so that I could write a few posts on the weekends.  I wasn’t willing to put in the work that helped create the Pows!, as well as take them to their conclusion.

I used to do the same thing when I approached preaching at the campground ministry that I am part of during the summer months.  I would stick my finger up in the wind to find out where it was blowing, sometimes even on Sunday mornings.

I didn’t realize that I couldn’t just wait for inspiration to hit, whether it was writing, preaching or any other creative venture I wanted to be part of.  I had to create my own inspiration.  I’m not sure when it was, but I figured something out by accident.

The harder I worked, the more inspiration would come.

The more I would write, the more ideas for writing would come.

The more I dug into God’s word, the more sermon ideas I discovered.

No matter what ventures you and I decide to pursue, more inspiration will come with the effort we put into.

Writing?  Yes.

Preaching? Yes.

Running?  Yes.

You name it.  You put the effort into it, even when you don’t want to, inspiration will come.

POW! POW! POW!

  1. April 30, 2014 at 6:03 am

    I resemble that remark lol. I have however started to write on my blog once more. It started with being asked to do a guest post for the Bible Warrioress. God willing I will be able to work around the terrible headaches and continue on. I did a second post yesterday.
    I look forward to your posts my friend.

    Ed

  2. April 30, 2014 at 10:13 am

    I can attest to this in sermon prep. There have been times I have not felt like working on a sermon but made myself get started. Once i did though…it all came together.

  3. April 30, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    Word! This is so true. And this is why I do not take breaks from blogging. The breaks often can lead to a lack of momentum in the idea department. At least for me.

    • May 1, 2014 at 5:30 am

      I have a backlog of ideas, but writing, reading and engaging keep them flowing for me, Rob

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

