Home > Christianity, Faith > Sometimes It’s The Same Thing

Sometimes It’s The Same Thing

I wrote the following tweet a few weeks back that approaches a thought I have about a subject:

Plenty of people enjoy singing songs in church.  The question is do they enjoy worshiping the Lord.

Please don’t misunderstand me.  I have no ability to decide who is one or the other.  Do I have some guesses here or there?  You bet.  Can I know for sure?  No way, Joseph.

Still the question remains.  Are we singing simply for the enjoyment of singing songs?  Or are we truly worshiping the Lord?

Sometimes I don’t know how to answer that question.

I’m a terrible singer.  I sing in the shower.  I sing in the truck at red lights.  I sing in church with everyone else.

This past Sunday, I worshiped while I did it.

I’m pretty sure that there have been times when I haven’t.

Then again, I’ve worshiped while I wept in the presence of the Lord.

While running down the road.

While hiking in the mountains.

While reading  my Bible.

And guess what?  I haven’t as well.

I would love to say that every time I had a bottle of Diet Mountain Dew, I did it for the glory of God.  I have.  And I haven’t.

Life is weird and strange.  It has its ebbs and flows.  There are days that I feel like I’m worshiping in the presence of the Lord.

There are times I’ve felt far away from Him.

All I know is that sometimes I sing because I enjoy it.  Sometimes I sing to worship the Lord.

Sometimes, it’s the same thing.

Do you find yourself in the same spots?

 

  1. May 2, 2014 at 8:34 am

    For sure I find my self thinking the same thoughts. I love country music so when I got saved it was a natural for me to drift to southern gospel which I listen more to now. Sometimes I just enjoy the harmony of the singers. One thing for sure my spirit is always lifted and encouraged when I listen to Christian music. Good post Larry.

  2. May 2, 2014 at 9:47 am

    Yes. I do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

