Home > Christianity, Faith > If You’re Following Christ, You’re Like Lady Gaga

If You’re Following Christ, You’re Like Lady Gaga

I think it was when my daughter was in eighth grade.  She was just beginning to the journey to become herself.  Part of that journey, like so many of us in the past, was in the realm of music.  Since she was in the car with us a lot, and because I wanted to know what she was listening to, we listened to the local pop station.  Much of it wasn’t too bad, though it wasn’t my cup of tea.  Some of it was plain awful. Then I heard it.

Lady Gaga singing Pokerface.

Since then I’ve paid a bit of attention to the phenomenon of Lady Gaga.  I watched her arrive in an egg.  I saw her wear a meat dress.  Some of her songs were ok.  Others pushed boundaries.

One thing about here, though.  She wasn’t original.

Some people are castigating me for that comment.  Others are shocked that I would dare mention her in my blog on faith and stuff.

Some may even know what I’m talking about.

I grew up in the 80’s.  I watched Madonna hit the scene.  I saw what Madonna did.  If there hadn’t been a Madonna, there wouldn’t have been a Gaga.

Lady Gaga was influenced by Madonna and was able to travel the roads she has because Madonna blazed the trails for her.  So, let me be perfectly clear about something.

If you’re following Christ, you’re like Lady Gaga.

Jesus chose his disciples.  There were twelve and seventy and hundreds.  Some came and went.  By the time He ascended to Heaven, 500 had seen Him.

A few weeks later, thousands came to faith.  And more.

Now, for two thousand years, we’ve been following the way they followed.  Or, I should say, the Way.

You and I need to have this in common with Gaga.  Probably about the only thing we need to have in common with her.  We need to travel down this path.  We need to stand on the shoulders of the apostles and the prophets.  We need to boldly go where those before have already gone.

Have you ever thought about being a little like Gaga?

  1. May 6, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Jesus is my Savior, we walk side by side. He resides in my heart and guides my every move. I don’t think I can say I follow Him, but I can say I walk with Him.

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed.

  2. May 6, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Nope. I’m a guy. But on your topic: it does raise the issue of being a follower willing to travel the road with Him no matter where it takes me.

    • May 6, 2014 at 9:51 am

      Great point, Bill. And I’m glad you’re a guy. 🙂

  3. May 6, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    I’m pretty sure that Madonna or Cindy Lauper had a child with Boy George and named that child Lady Gaga.

    • May 6, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      Throw in a little Marilyn Manson in there too

    • May 7, 2014 at 11:10 am

      I think it’d have to only be Marilyn Manson. It was probably Madona and Manson, looks like their child inherited their geneses for trying to hard. I appreciate her message but it is incredibly obvious that she is cultivating an image and does it to shock people. yet she becomes so predictable by doing it.

      • May 8, 2014 at 5:25 am

        Much if what she does definitely seems contrived.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

