Home > Blogging, Faith > The Rhythm Is Gonna Get You

The Rhythm Is Gonna Get You

No, I’m not really going to discuss some spiritual component of the old Gloria Estefan/Miami Sound Machine song.  Maybe I could if I tried, but I don’t really want to try that hard.

Instead, I want to describe a post that I wrote a few weeks ago.  Actually, how I wrote that post, not the post itself.

I sat down and did something completely different.  I wrote the post by hand.  I went downstairs to the cafeteria at work.  I took my Moleskine with me because, you know, a writer has to have one of these trusted, primitive devices.  I planned to jot a few notes and, perhaps, sketch out a  post or two.  Instead, something else happened.

I wrote a few sentences.  Before I knew it, I had written a few pages.

There was a wonderful rhythm and cadence to writing this post by hand.  Normally I just write a few ideas down to begin the process.  This one just seemed to write itself.

*****

I’m afraid that many of us have lost the beauty of writing by hand.  Maybe I’m wrong.  I hope so.

When was the last time you wrote a letter?  I mean and honest to goodness pen on paper letter.  It’s been so long that I can’t remember.  If I had to guess, it was 1992 when I was dating my wife.

How about post cards?  The last one I saw someone get was blank and hand delivered by the giver to the recipient.

Christmas cards?  The number we receive each year had been dwindling for some time.  It’s becoming difficult for many of us to even sign our names and write “Merry Christmas!!!”

*****

I decided to try something new a while back.  I began handwriting the Gospel of Matthew.  I write a few verses each day.  It’s a wonderful different way to engage with God’s word.  I’ve seen some things that I have never seen before in scripture that I’ve read hundreds of times before.

Try handwriting something.  I don’t care what it is.  A letter.  Postcard.  Go ahead and do your Christmas cards.

The rhythm is gonna get you.

Categories: Blogging, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. May 7, 2014 at 6:23 am

    I write letters, and like you, when I get started the words just seem to flow. Sometimes they flow so fast I can’t seem to get them down legibly and I have to force myself to slow down and write clearer. It is euphoria feeling the words just fly out onto the paper.

    On a side note – I guess you didn’t see my response to your post yesterday as I didn’t see a response. Have a wonderful day!

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed

    • May 7, 2014 at 6:28 am

      Ed, sorry. They “rhythm” of life is crazy right now and I missed you yesterday.

      • May 7, 2014 at 6:36 am

        I figured you missed it because you very seldom not comment on comments left on your posts. When response came on all the others, I guessed you overlooked mine. 🙂

  2. May 7, 2014 at 10:22 am

    I try to write my wife a weekly handwritten note. But please don’t let this post inspire you to start writing checks at the grocery store. Those people drive me crazy.

    • May 8, 2014 at 5:24 am

      That is awesome, Rob. I personally try to write checks in the grocery line as often as possible. I wait until my groceries are completely rung up before I even take the checkbook out of my pocket, much less begin writing.

  3. May 7, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    i still use a Moleskine for my journal which I hand write. I also try to send handwritten notes to people of thanks, prayers, missing you, etc. In my mind, they are so superior to email.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

