Home > Christianity, Faith > Who Is Your Cool?

Who Is Your Cool?

The first decade I remember was the 70’s.  It was a decade that changed our nation more than most would have believed when it began.  The optimism of the 60’s gave way to a cynicism that has done nothing but grow since.

Fortunately, I was a kid and didn’t realize this until much later.

Instead, it was a decade of awesomeness.  The TV show were great and none were cooler than Happy Days.  I love watching as Ritchie, Potsie and Ralph Malph all tried to be as cool as Fonzie.  No character on TV has ever been like him.  Girls flocked to him with the snap of a finger.  The jukebox would play with a tap.  He could talk on a payphone without having to pay.

Many, if not most, of us who grew up int he 70’s wanted to be the Fonz.

*****

I was anything but cool as I continued to grow up.  I didn’t really have close friends.  My room was in the basement of my parents’ home and I collected comic books.  I was scared of girls and couldn’t talk to them if I was remotely interested in them.  I ran track and cross-country, not exactly the sports that were the “coolest”.

I wanted to be the guy that scored the touchdowns and got the cheerleaders, you know?

*****

Let’s face it.  What I really wanted was to be liked and accepted by who I thought was the in-crowd and the cool kids.  I wanted to fit in and be like all the other kids.

What I really wanted to do was to conform to what I thought was expected of me.

*****

As I continue to travel down the roads of social media and blogging, I see so many of us who claim to be the King’s kids doing the same thing.

We want all of the benefits that come with being a follower of Christ.  At the same time, we want to cozy up to the world and be accepted by those who He has chosen us from.  It’s a variation of the old game we play where we ask how far we can go without sinning.

*****

The coolest Christian I ever came across was Rich Mullins.

I saw Rich in concert a couple of times.  I was even trying to order tickets the day he died.

Rich did what he wanted to do.  He walked out onto stage barefoot.  He played dulcimers and hammered dulcimers.  He released two albums at once.  He only lived on what money he needed and gave the rest away.  He spent much of his time living on a Navajo reservation teaching Indian children music.

Once Rich was invited by an acquaintance to stop by if he was ever in town.  One day the phone rang and Rich told them he was stopping by.  He showed up with his duffel bag.  He chit chatted for a minute and then asked if he could take a shower.  Once he was done, he thanked them and left.  That was it.  He used their facilities and hightailed it.

*****

I don’t want to really be like the Fonz anymore.  That whole idea jumped the shark.

I still love to listen to Rich Mullins, but I don’t want to be like him either.  He had his own issues and problems.

I want to be like Jesus.

He should be our aim.  Whether we earn the world’s accolades or not, Jesus should be our goal.  He should be who we want as our example.

He should be our cool.

Who is your cool?

  1. May 8, 2014 at 5:17 am

    Well stated Larry. I wasn’t much into Happy Days since I am older than you. I did however, want to be MacGyver and have his mental ability to think. 🙂 i also wanted to be Chuck Swindoll and have his ability to study and preach. I finally realized that was getting me nowhere. God wanted me to be His and follow Him. I’m much more comfortable in that skin.

    • May 8, 2014 at 5:27 am

      If only you could take some bubblegum and shoestring and come out with a sermon…..

  2. May 8, 2014 at 6:09 am

    Great post Larry! I am a very shy person also and have trouble holding a conversation with almost anyone, let alone a girl.

    I try my hardest to be like what I think Jesus would want me to be. That keeps me pretty busy and out of trouble.

    Otherwise I am just a boring guy working my life.

    • May 8, 2014 at 11:16 am

      Try joining a social group online. If you wish you can probably find a lot of good people there.

  3. May 8, 2014 at 7:59 am

    Great word, Larry. I was from the Fonzie generation too. Loved that show. You’re right, we really never grow out of that desire to be known. But we constantly lose our way chasing after the wrong things. I’ve had to face that every now and then over the 5 years I’ve been writing. I’m most content when I’m not seeking approval but simply writing what I feel the Lord wants me to write and leaving the rest of the junk behind. I’ve come to really dislike the word “platform”

  4. May 8, 2014 at 9:29 am

    Justin Timberlake is today’s version of the Fonz. He oozes cool.

  5. May 8, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Eh the 90s was a better decade for TV, you have to give Gen X that. Both Japan and America’s version of Mighty Morphin Power Rangers was better than both versions of Battle of The Planets,(thought that show is better when they don’t cut most of it out. And Power Rangers owes it’s existence to that show so I applaud it there) we still had a good Saturday Night Live cast, and our idols actually waited till after the decade was over to jump the shark :P.

    I don’t see why you don’t like the supposed “cynicism” of today though. Now that we are no longer innocent and we know that these problems exist and know we can fix them. If your dedicating your life to helping others your gonna see some bad stuff. Sure maybe it is more visible, but that means it is slightly easier to fix. I really don’t understand nostalgia for more “innocent” decades.

    As for the idea I agree. Don’t follow people’s ideals to fit in, follow them because you believe it is the right thing to do. But:

    “At the same time, we want to cozy up to the world and be accepted by those who He has chosen us from.”

    Maybe you should acknowledge when the world has better ideas than you do. I’ve read about Christians rejecting the germ theory and refuse their kids medicine, their ideas of gay people being sinful forcing their children into reeducation camps, or just leave them out on the street. Any idea can be taken to far and sometimes it is not about being cool, it is about acknowledging every group has faults and not to allow that kind of thing in your own ways of following your religion. I’ve also spoken with a Christian who fights for gay rights even though he believes it to be a sin so I’m aware it is not universal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

