Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Godspell And Graffiti

Godspell And Graffiti

I mentioned before that I grew up in the 70’s and 80’s.  This means that I grew up in the church in the 70’s and 80’s as well.

One of the things I remember from that time is that clapping didn’t happen as often in church as it does now.  In fact, when it came time to clap for something, I was taught specifically to not clap in church.  I never did understand why, except  that somehow God didn’t like it when we were in church.

*****

Shortly after we began attending our church, something happened that I wasn’t sure about at first.  Right there in the middle of the service, three girls walked up on the stage.  The music began playing and they began doing their thing.

They danced.  To Christian music to boot.  Not in a separate service from “church.”  Not in a separate location from “church.”  Right there in the middle of worship service.

*****

A few years ago I chaperoned the youth at a previous church when they went to a youth conference.  I hadn’t been to something like this in years, so I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect.

The speaker was interesting.  Besides being a preacher, he was a graffiti artist.  For each session he led, he had a piece of graffiti art.  For the final session, he even showed a time lapsed recording of him creating his art.

One session we had that weekend was also a performance from a church’s theater group.  They performed the musical Godspell for this group of unsuspecting youth and chaperones.

*****

My mindset for worship has changed a bit over the years.

When I clap in church, I’m not just clapping for what everyone can see is going on.  I’m clapping for what God is doing in the situation.

I can clap for girls who can use talents they have developed for the glory of God.

I can clap for Godspell and graffiti.

How has your attitude over worship changed over the years?

  1. May 12, 2014 at 6:02 am

    I was raised in a church environment where clapping was not the thing. I went to college where clapping was not the thing. There were also no raising of hands. My first experience was at a youth conference and when i saw some raise their hands I broke out in a cold sweat expecting “speaking in tongues” any minute. Didn’t happen. Now I raise my hands in joyful celebration for Who God is.

    • May 12, 2014 at 6:04 am

      I haven’t gotten there as far as raising hands, but I wouldn’t mind it.

  2. May 12, 2014 at 7:37 am

    I grew up in the youth group in the 90’s. Early 90’s youth worship was all about motions. From the Rising of the Sun = motions. Every song had motions. Blind Man. Pharaoh, Pharaoh. We were forced to move or be left out. I hate motions to songs! Near the end of high school the Passion movement hit and that’s when worship became a lot more serious for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

