Home > Christianity, Faith > All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt?

All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt?

Sometime in the late 70’s, my grandparents took a trip to California.  My grandpa had retired from his job of thirty years working for a furniture manufacturer.  He had immediately gotten a part-time job.  It seems like he couldn’t help but work a little.  My grandma babysat several babies and young children.  For two weeks in April one year, they set all that aside, got in their car and drove to California.

They visited a few sights on their way out and back.  Of course they brought their only grandson a few trinkets.  One of my most prized was what they bought me as they passed through Las Vegas.  It was a “My Grandparents Went To Las Vegas And All They Got Me Was This Lousy T-Shirt” t-shirt.  Being a ten or eleven year old kid, I was especially proud of this t-shirt and loved the conversations that were started from wearing it.

Looking back, it was a nice sentimental gift, but in reality, it was really just a cheap t-shirt.

*****

I look around the Christian subculture that we live in and sometimes think the same thing.  We all claim Christ as our savior, but I wonder if many of us treat our faith like that t-shirt.

We know and understand what Christ has done for us.  We believe in the work Christ did on the cross for us.  We have faith in Him and trust Him for our salvation.

Then we act like all we got in the deal was the lousy t-shirt.  We wear our faith like it’s a souvenir from a two-week trip.  We treat it simply as something we talk about, but doesn’t make a huge impact in our lives.

And when I say we, I mean especially me.

*****

Christ gave us something to wear that is so much more valuable than a t-shirt.

Ralph Stanley sung many years ago that we take off the old coat and put on the new.

He gave us a helmet, breastplate, belt and shoes.

Best of all, He gave us Himself.  We get to wear Christ on a daily basis.

All He gave us was this lousy t-shirt?  Hardly.

Let’s act we’re wearing what we truly are.

Have you ever found yourself acting like you’re wearing a cheap t-shirt instead of Christ?

  1. May 14, 2014 at 6:24 am

    I can say “Not me” because I have had a glance inside heaven. I know what God gave me and I cherish all of it everyday of my life!

    Walk daily with Jesus at your side.

    Ed

  2. May 14, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Are you referring to when I pout or get angry. Nope not me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

