Home > Christianity, Faith > Going To Golf Camp

Going To Golf Camp

Thirty years ago, I had a busy summer.  I experience two events that have remained with me throughout my life.  One was going to Disney World for vacation.  I’ll write more about that one later.  The other was my golf camp experience.

I had fallen in love with the game of golf due to the influence of my uncle.  He played golf.  A lot.  I’m not really sure how I got started, but I began playing a little golf and even got to go with him some.

I’m even less sure about how this happened, but he offered to send me to golf camp.  The logistics were worked out and one Sunday morning he pulled up and took me to Fall Creek Falls State Park.  I would spend a week there before he came to pick me up to return home.

A few weeks later I went to play golf with a few friends of mine.  I didn’t know exactly how the camp had affected my game until I played with them.  With some good-natured teasing they basically told me my game had improved.

In other words, thee was a noticeable difference that they could detect.

*****

I wonder if we Christ followers need to go to golf camp.

Of course, I  don’t mean that literally.  We don’t need to go off to camp to learn to be a Christian.  Then again, there might not be anything wrong with getting off by ourselves to figure out what we’re doing.

What we do need, for sure, is for the world to see a difference in us.

Not a contrived difference.  Not a difference just for the sake of being different.  Not a difference just to be different from the world.

We need to be different from our relationship with Christ.

We need to be different the way Jesus was different.

We need to walk the way Jesus walked, we need to follow in His footsteps.

We need to learn to swing the club the way Jesus did.  We need to learn to play the course the way He did.  We need to learn to play the shots the way He did.

We need to go to Jesus’ golf camp.

Have you been to Jesus’ golf camp?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. May 15, 2014 at 6:10 am

    We, as Christians, need to work with new Christians to help them along the path. Many times we rejoice when new Christians step forward, only to forget them afterwards. It is a hard path to follow, a little guidance and encouragement goes a long way!

    Walk daily with Jesus beside you!

    Ed

    • May 15, 2014 at 6:17 am

      Totally agree, Ed. We get them in and them expect them to figure everything out on their own.

  2. May 15, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I’m glad my walk is not on par with my golf game. It was horrible. I had a baseball swing. I had ill-fitting clubs. All in the past tense. I no longer play for various reasons. I do, however, want to continue walking with Him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

