Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith > My Take On A Favorite Post #3

My Take On A Favorite Post #3

My series of taking a look at favorite posts continues while I’m, uh, doing some other things this week.

Today post is 1 Good Reason To Skip Sunday School.

The reason I love this post is because it made me take a look at things a little differently.  Like I mention in it, Jan and I skipped Sunday school one morning.  This was when we still went to a church that had Sunday school.

Honestly, we needed it.  We had been in Sunday school for so many years.  We hadn’t really missed except while on vacation until we began looking for a church.  Once we were in one for a while, we were back into it.

The kids went on a trip somewhere, so we were by ourselves.  We had a good time on a Sunday morning without being with God’s people in God’s house on God’s day.

I hope that doesn’t sound irreverent.

It allowed us to connect in a way we hadn’t in a while.

That’s why this is a favorite post.

  1. May 21, 2014 at 5:44 am

    I. DON’T. MISS. SUNDAY. SCHOOL. AT. ALL. I never really liked it and when I finally found myself pastoring a church where they didn’t have it (like here), I would be the last to lobby for one. Sorry if that disappoints or makes any of your readers mad. 🙂

    • May 23, 2014 at 5:50 am

      Me either, Bill. Glad I’m in a church that doesn’t have it.

  2. May 21, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Sunday school had it’s place in my life. As a teen I connected way more through the youth program and our Sunday school then I did big church. With that being said I don’t miss Sunday school. For one I don’t miss the payments of a HUGE building with classrooms that are empty all week.

    • May 23, 2014 at 5:49 am

      Church buildings are highly inefficient and a waste of good real estate too often, Rob.

  3. May 21, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Larry, I think it’s both important, and healthy, to know when we need a sabbath–and then take it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

