Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith > My Take On A Favorite Post #5

My Take On A Favorite Post #5

Today is the last post in this series.  I’ve been on vacation this week and I really didn’t want to do anything too serious this week.  By the time most of you read this, I’ll be heading back home from sunny Orlando seeing Mickey and the gang.

Today’s post is Maybe You Hate Church.

This is the newest post.  It was written just last year.  We were about to wrap up our first year in our new church and I was doing some reflection.

I realized that I had spent most of my life in a love/hate relationship with church.  I loved it.  I hated it.  Mostly, I hated what it had done to me over the years.

At this point we were in a new church that we loved.  It was everything we had always wanted in church.  It’s different from any other we have ever been part of and requires both the least and the most any church ever had of us.

I don’t think I’m different from most people, which is why I write these posts.  I try to be honest about how I feel and what I experience in the hope it will help someone else out there.

I hope you guys have enjoyed this series.  Back to our regularly scheduled programming on Monday.

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. May 23, 2014 at 11:56 am

    Well brother you have written everyone hearts in the matter of “church”. Since I did not get saved till I was 35 and had no real background of church I can’t say I hated church. Being a brand new Christian was just that brand new, it all was brand new, even the messy parts. The church lack a lot but one thing they did no lack was the message of the gospel. They grounded me in the foundational truths, what I think they lacked a lot was disciple ship beyond salvation. Win them, wet them and work them was the motto they went by. Of course there is a lot of messiness in between each of those. But thank God my foundation is firm due to the teaching I received there. Now after a few years under my belt of walking with the Lord I judge myself more then I judge the church and those in it. I can only answer for myself, how can I walk closer to Him so I will be a better light. I never cease to be amazed at God and Him using us, His bride with our tattered and holey wedding clothes, so glad we will get new ones. Glad you have found a good church Larry and I am sure they got a more mature man of God due to some of the things you have been through before.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

