Home > Blogging, Life Management > Values And The Wheel Of LIfe

Values And The Wheel Of LIfe

Recently I began a series on Fridays regarding life management.  You can see the first two installments here and here.  Today we will examine the next step in life management.

After developing a vision and mission for life, one should determine the values they will focus on to guide their life.  For the purposes of this exercise, values are defined as what one determines to be  most important in life.

I have gone through this exercise several times over the past few years.  I have listed up to ten values that are most important to me.  However, I found that the more I listed, the less I was able to actually focus on what I considered important.  I whittled and added, added and whittled, and was never happy with my list.

Some time back I ran across Zig Ziglar’s Wheel of Life.  You can view a graphic below.

 

WheelOfLife

In the example, you will find the following areas of the Wheel of Life:

  1. Spiritual
  2. Physical
  3. Intellectual
  4. Family
  5. Social
  6. Career
  7. Financial

Once I found this list, I decided to stop trying to recreate the Wheel (pun intended), and tailor what Zig Ziglar and others have used for my own benefit.

I suggest using this framework, but making it personal.  For example, I prefer the word Community to Social, so I made that change in my personal Wheel of Life.  Another possibility is to exchange Calling for Career.  None of this is set in stone.  Make it your own so that it is something that you will use to improve your life.

Another way of looking at these values is to see them as your big rocks, the most important things in your life.  You must pay attention to them.  They won’t just happen.

The next step is to create a value statements for each value.  We will explore that in the next post in the series.

Do you know what values are most important to you in life?  Have you written them down?  If not, what’s stopping you?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

