Home > Christianity, Faith > What Did Jesus Believe?

What Did Jesus Believe?

Several years ago a phenomenon flashed into the consciousness of America.  It began as a simple question, but spawned a mini-industry.  Of course, I am talking about the WWJD? movement.

WWJD

Just before my wife, Jan, and I were married, I read the booked that spurred this movement.  It is In His Steps written by Charles Sheldon.  It is the fictional account of a town that is changed by people asking the question, What Would Jesus Do?

Recently I was thinking about this, but I wasn’t thinking about what Jesus would do.  Instead, I wondered what Jesus believed.

A thorough reading of the Gospels reveals a few things about what Jesus believed.  He believed in…..

  • Adam and Eve
  • Noah
  • Abraham
  • Moses
  • David
  • Isaiah

When I went to college, I went to a Baptist college.  One of the requirements was that I had to take Old Testament and New Testament classes.  On the very first day of class in Survey of the Old Testament, my professor held up his Bible and said that you couldn’t believe everything that we would study.  He said that the Bible was full of fables, fairy tales and legends.  I have my own opinion of what my professor was full of, but I’ll keep that one to myself.

In the years since, I have come to believe that what I believe about Jesus and what I believe about the Old Testament are not separate of each other.  Each of those beliefs depend on each other.  I can’t believe in the Old Testament without Jesus and I can’t believe in Jesus without the Old Testament.

I believe that Jesus believed what we call the Old Testament.  I believe that the Old Testament points to Him throughout its writings

What do you believe Jesus believed about the Old Testament?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. June 9, 2014 at 5:14 am

    Gonna go with you on this one Larry. (IN spite of the fact Ricky has not commented). 🙂 I believe Jesus firmly believed in the Older Testament. “As Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the fish, so must the Son of Man…” Yeah, I’d say He believed it. I also believe the school you went to should have said “bye” to that prof.

  2. June 10, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    My uncle is always saying the front of the book points to the back of the book, and the back of the book fulfills the promises of the front. Or something like that. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

