Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > What Your Church Is Not

What Your Church Is Not

I am a church expert.  I say that with about as much humility as I can.  I have been going to church for nigh on forty-six years now.  If my daughter can work at American Eagle for about forty-two minutes and be a jeans expert, I am a church expert.

churchwithpeople

I have been in all sorts of churches in my life.  Small, backwoods, rural churches where I wondered if the snakes were coming out.  Big, First Baptist churches where, well, they were First Baptist churches.  I have seen churches of about every type imaginable.  I have some ideas about what church really is and is not.  Here are some thoughts.

  • Church is not a building.  I know, I know.  This has become a bit of a cliche’.  Many of us call it the church building now.  The church is the people, not some structure or even an organization.
  • Church is not a social club.  Listen, I’ve known folks who treat it this way.  It’s the place for them to make contacts.  It’s the place to simply have some friends.  It’s ok if that happens along the way.  I don’t have any problem with that.  That just isn’t what your church is.
  • Church is a not a performance.  Some think it’s all about how this girl or those two folks sing their duet.  They think it’s about how well the pastor speaks.  They may even think it’s about how everyone dresses.  It’s not.  Church is not a performance for each other.
  • Church is not an audience.  The church is not the audience for the choir, soloists and speakers to do their thing.  It’s not like going to a concert or a comedy show.

I listed some things the church is not.   So what is it.

A Body.

A Bride.

A Family.

A Community.

The church is more than what so many think it is.  Too often, it’s much more than what we think it is.  Let;s make the church what it’s supposed to be .

What do you think the church is not?  What do you think the church is?

  1. June 10, 2014 at 5:42 am

    Totally agree Larry. I am not sure much rubs me as badly as hearing someone talk about the church as the building. We have a man who has a mission work in Liberia, Africa and when he talks about it he says they are building a church in Africa. But I have to listen a bit more to realize he is talking about a building. I know it is nit-picky but as long as we have this idea of church as building we will struggle with not honoring the building and thinking it is sacred.

  2. www.thesoldierssanctuary.com
    June 10, 2014 at 5:56 am

    good word

  3. June 10, 2014 at 11:00 am

    The church is like fire. It’s amazing and has done so much good. It’s also a thing that burns people. I always tell people that the church is not a building but a relationship to people. It’s like a marriage. It should be taken seriously and not jumped into too quickly. Once you’ve committed to a local church body commit and don’t cheat on it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

