Home > Christianity, Faith > The Happiest Place On Earth?

The Happiest Place On Earth?

As I’ve written before, my family and I recently took a trip to Walt Disney World.  Maybe, at some point, I will have used up Disney as inspiration for my posts, but, for now, bear with me.

WaltDisneyWorld

We had heard it before.  You probably have too.  Disney is referred to as “the happiest place on earth.”  There’s just one problem.  It isn’t so.

That’s not to say we didn’t have a happy time while we are Disney.  It simply wasn’t the happiest place on earth.

The question that we would ask ourselves is that if Disney is not the happiest place on earth, then what is?  I ‘m going to let you in on a secret.

It’s nowhere.  And it’s everywhere.

Happiness is not limited to a place.  Happiness is not even dictated by the circumstances of where we are located.  Instead, it’s a frame of mind and spirit.  Here is how to know if you are really happy.

  • You’re poor in spirit because yours is the kingdom of heaven
  • You mourn, for you will be comforted
  • You are gentle, for you shall inherit the earth
  • You hunger and thirst for righteousness, for you shall be satisfied
  • You are merciful, for you shall receive mercy
  • You are the pure in heart, for you shall see God
  • You are a peacemaker, for you shall be called a son of God
  • You are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for yours is the kingdom of heaven
  • You are insulted and persecuted and people falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Christ

The Bible says that these people are blessed, or happy.

The world says that a theme park will make you happy.  Or jobs.  Or money.  Or relationships.  Or any number of things.

You can have none of these things and be happy.  Why?  Because your source of happiness rests in a person.  Not your circumstance.

I had a lot of fun at Disney.  I enjoyed it immensely.  However, it didn’t make me happy.  I was happy already.

There is no way that a trip cold make me happy.  Why?  Because the trip was over a few weeks ago.  Everything else in my life could be at any time.

My happiness rests in Christ.

Where does your happiness rest?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. June 11, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Food makes me happy. Music makes me happy. The Lakers make me happy. Movies make me happy. But my happiness isn’t rooted an any of these things. Because food can be bad, music can stink, the Lakers currently stink, and movies can fall way short of expectations. The older that I get the more steady I’ve become. Jesus is what centers me. Everything else is just icing on the cake.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

