Home > Christianity, Faith > God Is Great, But Is He Good?

God Is Great, But Is He Good?

Most of us have probably prayed during out lifetimes.  More than likely, we learned to pray from our parents at mealtimes as we grew up.  Our prayers probably went this way:

Prayer2

God is great, God is good, let us thank Him for our food.

The question that I asked myself for years was not whether God was great.  The question I asked was whether God was good.

*****

When I was twelve years old my world changed.  I woke up one morning and my mom was sick.  Life was never the same for me again.  That event haunted me for years.  I let it affect every event and relationship of which I was a part.  There is still rarely a day that I do not think of this day in February, 1981.

So, when the question comes up, how do I answer it?  Is God good?

Yes.

I went through some tough times as a kid.  But those are not the standard for good.

Wars and death and disease?  Not those either.  Those are just the results of turning away form the God who is created the world and declared it good because He is good.

God is good because He is good.

What do you think makes God good?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. June 12, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    He offers His love to everyone. To those who hate Him, ignore Him, reject Him etc. To the saint and the sinner God shows He is good by His love for all.

  2. June 12, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    He is good, because He is good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

