Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Left Scratching My Head

Left Scratching My Head

One of the awesome things that comes through writing this blog are the relationships I have formed.  I’ve mentioned them  before, but there is a wonderful blogging community that I have become a part of.  Rob, Bill and Jon are just three of the great guys I have come to know.  I read their blogs and they read mine.  It’s pretty awesome.  However, I  had a conversation a while back that made me scratch my head.

Headscratcher

I had Googled someone I know.  I found what I consider an important work by this person.  It was pretty cool to discover it sitting out there in the wild, world of the Interweb.  I didn’t particularly understand it, but I was impressed.

Some time later, I had a conversation with this person and brought it up.  I mentioned this piece of hard work they had produced.  I was genuinely thrilled that I was able to tell them about this.  Then the conversation turned to my blog.

The other person said that they rarely read my blog.  They said that it simply didn’t interest them.  And that was that.

I’ll be honest with you.  It hurt my feelings a little bit.  Not because this person doesn’t read my blog.  That’s fine.  It really isn’t for everyone.  What really hurt me was that the way they told me was just matter of fact.  What came across was that they weren’t too interested in me or my life.  That probably isn’t the exact truth, but that was the message sent, especially after I was excited to tell them about discovering their work.

I’m really not sure about my relationship with this person these days.  I will always be nice to them, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever believe that they care about me or my life they way I thought they were before.

So what’s the lesson I learned from this?  What can we all learn?

If you really want someone to know you care about them, you need to show yourself to be interested in them.  In their life.  In their interests.

The spiritual lesson?

You can’t just go hit someone over the head with your Bible or some verses and expect them to come to Christ. You have to care about them.  You have to love them.  You have to be interested in them.  You have to love on them.

They might listen to you then.  They might be willing to consider what you have to say.

You might not leave them scratching their head after you share your heart with them.

Has anyone ever left you scratching your head with the way they spoke with you?  Have you ever made someone scratch their head with the way you shared Christ?

  1. June 18, 2014 at 10:21 am

    Larry, I’m really sorry this happened. I wonder if the person knew how they came across. Now that I’m the boss I find that I have to put out multiple fires by the way people heard something that I said, but didn’t mean it the way they heard it. Oh and most of my friends don’t read my blog. Ever.

    • June 18, 2014 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks Rob. I’m sure I can be just as insensitive as the next guy. And they could probably have told me they didn’t read my blog in a way that didn’t bother me. And my family rarely reads my blog either.

  2. June 18, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    Yeah, this is a hard one. My family checks in on my blog from time to time at this point (though I’m not being very active either). But I don’t think it means they aren’t interested in me, it’s just that this particular thing about me is not necessarily within their realm of interests. They would listen to me babble on half the day in real life – and sometimes are forced to, haha – even if what I’m saying in person is the same thing I’m saying online. But the blog world is just not for them.

    When I started my blog, my dad told me he didn’t want to read it because he didn’t want to have to think about things. Or something like that. It kind of hurt my feelings, especially because I understand who he is and it basically amounted to the same thing your friend said to you. But he’s still my dad and I know he cares about me. He just doesn’t care about my blog.

    • June 18, 2014 at 4:27 pm

      Yeah, it may be a bit of hyperbole on my part to describe them as not totally not caring about me. I guess what I’m really getting at is that we should think about how what we say comes across.

      • June 18, 2014 at 5:05 pm

        Yes, that’s very true!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

