Home > Blogging, Faith > God Is More Than…..

God Is More Than…..

I’ve been writing this little piece of the Interwebs for just over three years now.  I began it way back about 100 years ago in 2011.  If you haven’t noticed, I spend a lot of time writing about God, church, the Church and faith.

Content

It takes a lot of content to write a blog for three years and 1,000 posts.  You begin to look for ideas everywhere.  In fact, you don’t even realize that you are scanning for inspiration.  You just are.  Conversations.  Movies and TV shows.  Books. Other blog posts.  The Bible.  God.

It’s real easy to begin to focus on finding content instead of the content itself.  There is a slippery slope between something resonating with you so much it winds up in your writing and simply seeking that next idea to write about before you go to bed.

God can become who you tweet about.  He can become another Facebook status.  He can be your 1,65th post.

The thing is, and let’s be honest, He’s much more than that.  If He become all of these other things to us, it’s time to stop, drop and roll.  Or something like that, because we might find a little lightning hitting our backsides.

Oh Lord God, Father, Savior…..I beg you to not let me get in this situation.  When I approach that line, wake me up before I cross it.

I challenge you to make sure that you don’t fall into that trap either.  All of us are capable and susceptible.  Chase after that relationship with Him to avoid it.

Have you ever found yourself letting God just become  content instead of who He is?

Categories: Blogging, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. June 26, 2014 at 8:16 am

    i think it is real easy to allow this to happen. I have to be careful not to allow my study to be about sermons but for my own growth as well. Same with God. I can’t focus on content and forget who He is.

  2. June 26, 2014 at 9:43 am

    We use Jesus in so many ways. We use info about him to prop up our material and make us feel good. We use him as a scapegoat when we need to make a tough decision. Jesus is the gateway to a relationship with God the Father. Relational beings don’t like to be used.

  3. June 26, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    Oh this post went past the blog straight to my heart where the Lord see all I write before I write it. Because I don’t post often there was a time I worried about others thinking I had nothing to say or my walk with the Lord was pretty shallow. I mean is He my life or just someone I have a faint knowledge about? How important is He to me? It took me a while but this I know, I write for no one but me, sound selfish doesn’t it. But hear me out…if what I write about has not affected me personally then it does not get written. I don’t even marvel anymore at how some can come up with something new on a daily bases. I just want to write something that shouts, hey she is talking about Him because He has talked to her. I love what Rob said, relational being don’t like to be used. great post Larry. I do believe I could come up with something to write about every day but it would require much work on my part, studying, piecing together thoughts that made sense. There is a ton of self helps out there to help one blog often. But God seems to work with me this way…He inspires and most of the time it’s just for me and everyone once in a while He says…put it out there. On another note..I am extremely glad He moves on others to post often for I do love reading and learning and being encouraging and having the freedom to express my self on yours and others post.

    • June 30, 2014 at 5:50 am

      I love showing up everyday and pointing to Him. Thanks for reading, Betty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

