Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > I’ve Been A Terrible Friend

I’ve Been A Terrible Friend

A blog post showed up the other day in my reader.  The title was “Seven Ways To Destroy A Friendship.”

Friend

I have always struggled in the friend department.  Not that I haven’t been friendly with folks over the years.  I’ve just always struggled in close relationships that I would call true friendships.

I had one great friendship before marriage.  We both got married and slowly drifted apart.  I haven’t seen him now for somewhere in the neighborhood of 18 to 19 years.

I had a great friend where I work.  He left the company a couple of years ago.  We still go to lunch every so often, so I’ve done a little better.  We plan to even go to lunch this week.  However, we don’t see each other as often as we should or need to.

I’ve come to one conclusion through all of this.

I’ve been a terrible friend.

I could make all sorts of excuses for this.  It really comes down to my own character flaws.  There is and has always been something there that causes me to struggle to make great friendships work.

I suppose half the battle is figuring out what the problem is.  What will it take to make my friendships better?  The same as any relationship.  Time.  Commitment.

Maybe then I won’t be a terrible friend.  Maybe I’ll turn into a better friend.

The good news is that Jesus is there no matter what.  Besides being our Lord and Savior, He is our friend.  No matter what.  He doesn’t give up on us.  He sticks with us and pursues that relationship with us.

Are you a good friend?  Do you have it easy making friends or difficult?

  1. July 7, 2014 at 5:33 am

    Since I’m an extrovert I tend to meet people easily and try to make friends easily as well. Sometimes I assume a familiarity that is not there. But i do pursue friendships and think I am a good friend.

    • July 7, 2014 at 5:39 am

      Bill. I bet you are. And I’m looking forward to meeting in person one day.

  2. July 7, 2014 at 10:10 am

    It doesn’t take a lot for me to feel like I have a friend. Similar to Bill I sometimes assume familiarity that is not there. I don’t need to talk to someone every day to consider them a friend. If I have your cell number, if we communicate somewhat regularly, then we are friends.

  3. July 7, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    I have difficulty. Troubles with being open/transparent seem to be my biggest friendship liability.

  4. July 7, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    I’m not a great friend because I get wrapped up in my little life and neglect my friendships. You have to put time into friendships.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

