Home > Blogging, Life Management > Negativity Is A Habit

Negativity Is A Habit

If you’re like me, you run into plenty of negative people in your life.  It might be at work.  It could be family.  Negativity seems to spring up everywhere.  Too many people drink from the glass half empty.

negativity

I totally understand why this happens.  I have struggled with negativity all of my life.  A few years ago I applied for a job with my employer.  I didn’t get it and had a conversation with my manager.  He told me that I was negative and had a bad attitude.  I was shocked.  No one had ever told me that before.  I went through what I call the Margaritaville stages.  First, I knew it wasn’t true.  Then I came to the point where maybe it was true.  Finally, I realized it was true.

What I have finally come to realize is that negativity is a habit. Many of us learn this habit from a parent or other influential adult.  We live at though no only the glass is half empty, but the drink is persimmon juice.

So, how do you overcome negativity?  I began by faking it.  I pretended to have a good attitude.  I did this everyday for a while.  Internally, I didn’t feel much different.  Outwardly, I was faking it ’til I made it.  After a few months of doing this, I succeeded in gaining a promotion.  Even better was that I didn’t really have to try to be positive.

This isn’t to say that I always succeed.  I have years of negative habits fighting on a daily basis with positive habits.  Each want to win.  Guess which does?  Whichever one I feed.  The key lies with me.

I encourage you to examine yourself.  Are you negative or positive?  Fake it if you have to until being positive becomes your habit.  Feed your positive habits on a daily basis.

Are you a positive or negative person?  Do you drink out of a glass half full or empty?

 

  1. July 9, 2014 at 5:46 am

    I’m a pretty positive person. In fact, I really get annoyed by the person who is constantly putting a damper on things. Their pity party gets old.i do believe it is an internal “mind” or heart thing.

    • July 9, 2014 at 5:54 am

      It took me a long time to realize that negativity annoys people.

  2. July 9, 2014 at 9:05 am

    A glass that is half full is really all the way full–partly with liquid the other part with air. Maybe.

  3. July 9, 2014 at 9:42 am

    I feel I’m pretty glass is half full. I can be critical but for the most part I stay pretty classy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

