Home > Christianity, Faith > Money, Fame Or Women?

Money, Fame Or Women?

I was watching a movie the other day.  It doesn’t matter what the name of it was, especially since I wouldn’t recommend it to you.  I find that the case with most movies I watch, but, as I am apt to do, I digress.

One of the characters in the movie was taking guitar lessons to impress a girl.  He was terrible, maybe even worse than I have described my mandolin playing ability in previous posts.

The teacher finally takes the guitar away from him and asks which of three reasons is why he is learning to play the guitar.  Money, women or glory were the options.  He asked him over and over until the young man admitted that he was doing it for the girl.

It was a funny moment, but I sat there for a minute and realized those are the basic motivations for everything a guy will do.  I’m not a woman, so I can’t speak to the female motivation.  I suggest that most of us guys should shy away from trying to speak to what drives the women in our lives.

Back to these motivations, this has been proven in other movies as well.  Emilio Estevez’s Billy the Kid held his gun on victim in the movie Young Guns.  What did he say to the guy?  “I’ll make you famous.”  Here we see that, in a twisted way, Billy was giving him the option of glory.

In Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, we learn Indy’s motivation for why he seeks lost treasures.  “Fortune and glory” is what both Dr. Jones and Short Round describe as what is driving them to find lost artifacts.

What about you and me and those who follow Christ?

Too many in our fold seem to differ little from our guitar player, Billy the Kid or Indiana Jones.  We find too many seeking fame, money and, heaven help us, women.  When I reflect on that, it breaks my heart, but it also causes me to check my own motivations.

Why am I writing a blog?  Why do I go to work every day?  Why do I want to write a book or run a marathon?

It could be because I want a certain amount of fame or notoriety, even if the heights I reach are laughable.

Maybe I want to impress people, which in a sense is just another variety of fame.

Perhaps I seek income or wealth for what I do.  There’s our money issue.

Maybe I want to do it for my wife, to find a new level in our relationship.

It could be any or all of these three.  You could see those motivations in anything and everything I do.

The question is, though, as a follower of Christ what should my motivation should be?

The answer that I keep coming back to is that my motivation should be the same as Christ, the same as the Father, the same as God.

What drove Christ?  What did He most want to do?  He wanted to glorify His Father.  He wanted to make the Father famous.

Christ wasn’t worried about his wealth.  In Ephesians, Paul says that He left the riches of heaven and became poor.

Even though the Father glorifies the Son, Jesus did not seek His own glory.  He sought to glorify the Father.

He never married.  He was more concerned about the relationship He had with the Father.

None of the normal things that motivate you and me motivated Christ.

He simply sought to glorify God.

So, should I.  And so should you, as well.

Glorify God rather than yourself.  Being known by Him is to be known eternally, not just in the temporal fashion that we gain here on earth.

Store up riches in Heaven, since his riches are greater than anything we could gain now.

Be the Church, the Bride of Christ.  This relationship will make all others you seek what they should be.

We all have motivations for what we do.  It’s time for us to check what they are and seek the motivations of the One who came to seek and save the lost.

What’s your motivation for what you do?

***A funny thing happened writing this post.  I had made my notes for this idea and wrote the post.  Then I saw the notes again and forgot that I had written it.  So, I wrote it again, resulting in this post.  I liked both of them, so I spread them about three months apart.  So, what you read today was actually an accident.***

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. July 10, 2014 at 5:16 am

    If accidents can be good then this is a good example of one. Well said Larry. I often ask myself why I do what I do. Unless God changes things, I will never make a lot of money. i will never be famous. I am okay with all of that. i want my motivation (but don’t always reach it) to be like John’s: “he must increase but I must decrease.”

    • July 10, 2014 at 6:57 am

      I won’t have much money either, but it definitely does guide some decisions.

  2. jonstolpe
    July 10, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    Ultimately, I want to glorify God with my life.

    But…I’m sure I struggle with self-centered motives. I am a work in progress.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

