Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith > Building In Margin

Building In Margin

Back at the beginning of the year, I got on a roll.  I was writing blog posts like crazy.  I would write two or three a day to the point that I was about 90 days ahead.  It was nice at first, but then it became tough to write.  I went through a period where I was barely writing.  Finally, my scheduled posts caught up with me.  I went from having an enormous amount of margin to none at all.

Margin

As I write this, I will have some more margin built into my blogging life.  I will be slightly over a week ahead, which is good.  I’m not sure what the best balance is between a week and 90 days, but I want to find it.  Here is what I do know.

My life is extremely busy.  I can’t always get a post written daily.  I have work, family and church obligations.  There are other things going on in life too.  I need the ability to have some posts in my hip pocket for those busy times.

One of the nice benefits of having some margin in my writing is that I can take a larger view of where I want to go.  I can also be a bit more selective about what I want to write.  I don’t have the stress of having to think of what I have to write on any given day.

I see the need for margin in the rest of my life too.  If I am using up all of my time and resources on a daily basis, I have nothing left to give.

It’s the same in our church and spiritual lives.  It is easy when you are in a church to say yes to everything to the point of burning yourself out.  I think if the church is hitting on all cylinders, then there are plenty of people doing what they are called and gifted to do.  A few people don’t have to do everything.  There is plenty of margin left.

I’m just figuring a lot of this out.  It’s only taken me 45 years or so to start getting it together.  If you don’t have enough margin in your life, I would encourage you to do an audit.  You might need to cut some things out.  Possibly even some good things.  Why?  So that you can be doing better things.

Do you have enough margin in your life?

  1. skacyoung
    July 12, 2014 at 7:42 am

    Hi Larry, I didn’t know you existed on the “blog side”. Sometimes I am Captain Oblivious. Finally put two and two together. Anyway, the busy thing is something I struggle with. The church thing is the kicker. Often, people say Yes if they are asked, instead of me trying to do things myself. As probably your family schedule, we look at the next few months and say Where did the summer go? Great thoughts.

  2. skacyoung
    July 12, 2014 at 7:43 am

    Hello Larry, I didn’t know you existed on the “blog side”. Sometimes I am Captain Oblivious. Finally put two and two together. Anyway, the busy thing is something I struggle with. The church thing is the kicker. Often, people say Yes if they are asked, instead of me trying to do things myself. As probably your family schedule, we look at the next few months and say Where did the summer go? Great thoughts.

  3. skacyoung
    July 12, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    Hi Larry, I tried posting on your blog, but it didn’t take, so here is round 2. You are right, it’s the big picture. I know I can say No more as if somebody else is asked, they might say Yes for the first time. Trying to connect more people to a goal, that will free up that time to do better things. Easier said than done. Thanks for your insight.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

