Home > Christianity, Church > A Conversation With A Pastor

A Conversation With A Pastor

Much of the below conversation took place.  It was a conversation with a pastor of a church that we have known most of our lives.  The names have been changed to protect the innocent and guilty.  There is absolutely no exaggeration on my part in anything written.  Or is there?

Me, speaking to Jan:  There’s Charlie Baggs.

Jan, peering close and beginning to wave: It sure is.

Me:  Don’t wave, he might come over here.

Charlie waves back, making his way over to us.  I may have audibly groaned.

Me:  I told you.

Charlie:  How are y’all doing?

Us:  Fine, how are you?

Charlie:  Doing good.  What are you guys up to?

Us:  Staying busy.

Charlie:  Me too.  Where are y’all going to church now?

Us:  Church of the Cove.

Charlie:  Who’s pastor there now?

Us: Darren

Charlie:  He’s lead pastor there?

Us: Yes.

Charlie:   How about that?  I ran into an old boy who knows him on a mission trip to Colorado.  We were out there working with church planters.  They have it going on our there.  We really need to get that figured out here.  Church planting is one of the most important things we can be part of in the church.  You guys know that, of course.

Us:  Right (nodding, with perhaps some eye rolling)

Charlie, to me: Are you still at the bank?

Me:  No, I haven’t worked there since 1996.  I’m at one of the bigger employers in the county.

Charlie:  That’s right.  That’s right.  You’re on the finance side of things.

Me:  No, I work for the retail division.

Charlie: Do you know Albert Lee?  He goes to our church.  He works on the finance side.

Me:  No, I’ve never heard of him.

Jan:  He works in a different division.

Charlie:  Oh, are you sure?  I would have sworn he works on the finance side.

Jan:  Yes, he’s an accountant.

Charlie:  That’s right, I knew he worked on the finance side.  Wait a minute, do you work there too?  Don’t you work at the bank?

Jan:  No, I haven’t worked there since 1999.

Charlie:  How long have your worked there?

Jan:  About eight years.

Me:  Well, you’re doing some mission work here at the fireworks, I see.

Charlie:  Yeah, I didn’t really want to pass out water.  I’m too old for this.  But, Don told me to take it this way.  Besides, if I don’t do it, who will?

Me:  I haven’t seen Don in a while.

Charlies:  He’s starting a church up here.  You haven’t heard about it?

Me:  No, I haven’t.

Charlie: Huh.  How about that?  I figured he would have told you.  Well, I’ve got to get this water passed out.  It was good to see you.

Us:  Good to see you too.

Charlie asks a few people if they want water and begins walking back to the ministry tent.

Me, to Jan after he left:  You shouldn’t have waved at him.

Jan:  I know.

Categories: Christianity, Church Tags: ,
  1. July 14, 2014 at 5:18 am

    WOW! Other than saying Jan shouldn’t have waved at him I don’t know what else to say. 🙂

  2. Ricky Anderson
    July 14, 2014 at 8:30 am

    I didn’t know you worked in finance.

    • July 14, 2014 at 8:40 am

      I work for a home builder. We have our own financing but all sales financed by outside lenders and cash sales come through my team.

      • July 14, 2014 at 10:13 am

        Wait…I thought you worked at a bank?

      • July 14, 2014 at 11:30 am

        A grocery store, really

  3. July 14, 2014 at 9:24 am

    So you guys aren’t going to go to coffee after this?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

