Home > Christianity, Faith > Less Human Doing, More Human Being

Less Human Doing, More Human Being

I’ve been part of the Church for just over 20 years now.  I’ve been in church for, well, all of the life I remember.  I truly love both the Church and church.  Hopefully you know what I mean by that.

None of that means that I think church life is perfect.  It’s made up of people.  Imperfect people who make their fair share of mistakes.  Today, we might as well discuss one of them.

baptist church

If you have been in church for any length of time, you have been asked to do something.  Probably many somethings.  You have been asked to serve on some committees.  You have felt pressure to teach a class.  You have been encouraged to go on a mission trip.  Someone has tried to guilt you into going to the church house every time the doors were open.

In other words, there have been a lot of doings in your church life.  There’s just one problem.

We aren’t human doings.  We’re human beings.

We talk a lot of big talk about who and what we are becoming.  Unfortunately, too often we talk out of both sides of our mouth.  We end up pushing the doing over the being.

Obviously this is important from scripture.  David writes this familiar verse in Psalm 46:10:

Be still, and know that I am God! I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.

Too often we think that God being exalted is up to us.  We have to make it happen if it’s going to happen.  And, yes, we have to do things.

However, God, through David, calls us to be still.  I like how the NASB describes it as “cease striving.”  We need to quit acting like it’s always up to us.

What happens when we are actually still?

God is exalted among the nations.  He is exalted in the earth.

God is going to be exalted.  No matter what.  We need to quiet down a bit and let God be God.  Join Him where He is being exalted.  He wants to do the heavy lifting.  He wants us to be still.

Do you have a hard time being still?  

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. July 16, 2014 at 5:55 am

    Yes. It is extremely difficult for me to be still and I’m not ADHD.

  2. robshep
    July 16, 2014 at 9:37 am

    I do. I long for the day that Christians do out of an overflow of who their being with Jesus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

