Home > Christianity, Faith > Can A FitBit Help You Spiritually?

Can A FitBit Help You Spiritually?

Last week I got a FitBit.  In case you don’t know what a FitBit.  A FitBit is a device that tracks certain health indicators such as your daily steps, sleep pattern, and calorie intake.

FitBit

Since I got my Fitbit, I have tracked every calorie and every step for the past week.  I have taken over 100,000 steps and reduced my calorie intake.  It’s helping me get back to where I need to be physically.  But can it help me spiritually?

I say yes.

I can already tell a difference in my energy level since I began tracking my statistics.  By taking a short walk each morning, a run at lunch and all of the other walking I do at work, I am averaging somewhere between 14 and 16,000 steps per day.  I’ve had a little extra energy to put into my prayer time and Bible study.

Jan says that I have been happier this week.  I’m convinced that exercise affects our moods.  It seems to have definitely affected mine.  I’m usually in good mood anyway, but the rough edges seem to have been smoothed out.

Best of all, I am getting back in shape.  I’ve become lax over the last year or so and I can tell it.  At 45, it’s much more difficult to achieve your fitness goals than it was at 25 or even 35.  Since the body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, it’s important to take care of it.  The FitBit provides the extra motivation I need to reach the fitness level I am seeking.

Most of all, the FitBit helps me have a better testimony.  The last thing we need is another Christian who is overweight, eats too much and doesn’t exercise enough.

Will the FitBit help my spiritual life?  Yes, if I use it to do so, just like any other tool we have.

What tools do you use to improve your spiritual life?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

