Home > Christianity, Faith > If It Ain’t Broke, Break It

If It Ain’t Broke, Break It

We have all hear the saying, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”  That makes a lot of good sense, especially to those of us who do not like change.  However, some of us do like change and realize that maybe that saying isn’t exactly right.  Maybe it should be, “If it ain’t broke, break it.”

Change

If you read last Friday’s post, you will realize that I bought something called a FitBit.  I did this for a few reasons, but the main one was to do this very thing.  I wanted to shake my life up.  I wanted to be able to challenge myself physically everyday.  I wanted to disrupt my life a little.  I could have just continued my normal patterns of running to stay in shape.  There was nothing wrong with that.  It wasn’t broke.  Instead, I did something that would allow me to monitor my results.

Sometimes I need that in my spiritual walk as well.  I need to read a book of the Bible that I haven’t read in a while.  I need to involve myself in something that benefits others in the Lord’s name.  Perhaps I just need to get off by myself in the quiet.  There are a multitude of ways to shake things up.

Whatever it is in our lives that we normally go through may not be broke.  We may need to break them.  Perhaps just temporarily, but they may need to be broken.

I’m accepting the challenge.  I’m driving to work different ways each week.  I’m looking for new challenges physically.  I’m challenging myself to different things to bolster my spiritual life.

Will you accept the challenge?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. robshep
    July 21, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    Great challenge! I love it. And you are killing it with the Fitbit. I can’t keep up and I do 10K a day.

    • July 22, 2014 at 4:53 am

      Rob, I get a walk in every morning. I park as far away from the door at work. A run at lunch.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

