Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > When Shawn Smucker Set Me Straight

When Shawn Smucker Set Me Straight

It all started easily enough.  I grabbed my phone and my thumbs began doing their work.  A simple tweet that was all it was going to be.  But Shawn Smucker had to stick his nose into it.

shawnsmucker

If you don’t know Shawn, well, that’s to your detriment.  Shawn has become one of my writing heroes.  He lives a life that I’m not brave enough to live.  He’s traveled across the country with his family in a motor home.  He’s a full-time writer.  His blog posts are some that I look forward to the most.  And he stuck his nose in my business one Saturday.

I don’t remember why I wrote the aforementioned tweet.  Something triggered it.  It went something like this:

I just don’t get people trying substances that they might become addicted to.

I didn’t think much more about it.  That was, until Shawn Smucker set me straight.

Shawn responded to my tweet.  It might have been on Facebook, but does that really matter?  The fact is, he responded.  With something like this:

I can think of all sorts of reasons why someone would try something that they might become addicted to.

As usual, I had all sorts of thoughts.  “What the heck?’  “Who the heck does Shawn Smucker think he is anyway?  “Shut up, Shawn.”

Here’s why.

I’ve never used any sort of illegal drug or narcotic.  I’ve been scared of that all of my life.  I don’t struggle with alcohol.  I haven’t even had any for well over 23 years.  But I have a struggle.  Something I’ve battled, beaten and returned to over and over.  I’ve even talked about it here on this page.

Diet Mountain Dew.

I had quit.  I was doing great.  Then I thought I could drink one.  Before I knew it, I was drinking an embarrassing amount every day again.  I hadn’t really beaten it after all.

In reality, I was no different from those who I couldn’t understand.  Heck, I didn’t even understand myself.

Over the last two weeks, I have cut my consumption from extremely unhealthy to the point that I will only drink one twelve ounce can today.  I don’t say that with any pride.  I’ve lost this battle too many times.  I could return to it easily.  I am truly the epitome of a Diet Mountain Dewaholic.

Why am I fighting this battle again?  My health for one.  It just isn’t good to drink this stuff, especially in the quantities that I was.

I don’t really want to be a slave to anything.  When I discover that something has power over me, I want to fight it.  I don’t want anything to have control over me to that extent.

I want to glorify God and there is no way that I can do that drinking how much I was.

Finally, I am fighting this battle because of a tweet that I wrote.  And the response from Shawn Smucker that set me straight.

Have you ever had something that controlled you?  Did you defeat it?  Do you follow Shawn Smucker on Twitter or Facebook?  Do you read his blog at ShawnSmucker.com?

  1. July 23, 2014 at 1:21 am

    Shawn is a smart fellow; I may never have read his stuff, but he speaks the truth in that quote. I’ve been a recovering addict for a bit over 32 years now – God gets any glory or praise, because *all* I ever did was show up.

    What was I addicted to? A better question would be what was I *not* addicted to – and many of us addicts find that we let go in stages, not all at once – more of an Emmaus Road experience of getting well than a Damascus Road. I got clear of booze and dope (all varieties, including injectables) first. Gambling followed years later, others followed in their season of revelation, and cigarettes were the last to go after the cancer diagnosis.

    Most folks – especially Christians – don’t recognize the depths of their addictions, never mind that most of the worst of them are not substance related at all. Try http://www.plannedpeasanthood.com/2013/10/imprisoned/ for an overview (or an eye-opener).

  2. robshep
    July 23, 2014 at 9:29 am

    Shawn is great people. Good point learned in this one.

  3. July 24, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    I know whereof both you, and Shawn, speak, Larry. And my answer to all of your questions is: Yes. Been there, done that, bought the (sin-stained) t-shirt.

    Thanks be to God through Christ Jesus our Lord Who has delivered me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

