Home > Christianity, Faith > Have You Written Your Obituary?

Have You Written Your Obituary?

I was listening to a podcast the other day.  The speaker asked a question about how you would want to be remembered.  As I continued to listen, a thought occurred to me: What if I wrote my obituary?

Obituary

As I continued to ponder the question from the podcast, I wondered about writing my own obituary.  I’ve joked over the years that I would video myself and preach my own funeral.  But what if we took the proactive steps of writing the obituary.

Most of us spend some time every year planning a vacation.  Few, if any of us, plan how we will be remembered when we die.

How do you want to be remembered?

Do you want to be known as a great parent?  Put in there.  Get busy.  Write it in that obituary.

You want to be known as a great spouse?  Add it in.

You want to be called a great friend?  Put it down.

Being known as a follower of Christ is important to you?  Write it down.

I don’t  care exactly what you want to be known as.  Write it down.

Then get busy making it happen.

Be what the obituary you have written about.  Make yourself into what and who you want to be remembered.

Have you written your obituary?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. July 29, 2014 at 5:17 am

    Like you I have talked about recording my own funeral service. Sort of like my last speech. It is an intriguing idea. No one else could say what i want to say to those (all four) present. 🙂 But it definitely lights up the “what do I want to be known for” thought.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    July 29, 2014 at 8:42 am

    “Neener, neener. Guess where I am and you’re not?”

    I’d probably better not write my own.

  3. robshep
    July 29, 2014 at 8:53 am

    I’ve talked about filming a video for my funeral so I could address the crowd. I’ve also talked about my wife having me stuffed to stand me up front so everyone could give me one last high five. Neither idea went over as well as your post. I think I’ll try writing it down and see if that flies better.

    • July 29, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      I would love to read it. You ought to make it a post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

