Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Sometimes I Wonder How Cal Ripken Felt

Sometimes I Wonder How Cal Ripken Felt

Some days I wonder how Cal Ripken, Jr. felt.

Cal

Not that I’m Cal Ripken Jr.  He played in 2,632 consecutive baseball games, breaking Lou Gehrig’s seemingly unbreakable record.  He was an iron man when many would sit out a game with a hangnail.

*****

My friend, Jim Woods, calls me the Cal Ripken of  blogging.  I won’t go that far.  I don’t blog every day, but I do go hard at it six days a week.  I don’t make a dime and I just do it because I love to write.  Often, it’s easy peasy.  Lately, though, it’s been tough.

Work has been hard this summer.  My team lost two experienced people this spring.  I hired two great ones, but it takes a while to get them trained and up to speed.  One of my supervisors has been on maternity leave.  On top of that, we are in the middle of a system change .  I’m not complaining.  Facts are facts.  However, here’s the effect it’s having on me.

I’m dry.

To write you have to be able to draw from a well.  To get the water flowing, sometimes you have to prime the pump.  But no matter how much the pump is primed, no water will come if the well is dry.  I just haven’t had time to keep the water flowing.  To put it another way, my saw is dull and I can’t find time to sharpen it.

*****

So, where do I go?  I’ve got to find time to motivate myself.  Zig Ziglar says that some “say that motivation doesn’t last.  Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily.”

I’ve got to carve out more time to be in the word of God.

I’ve got to spend more time in prayer.

I need to read more good books.

I’ve got to fill up on that which is good.

I need to fill up my well so that when I prime the pump, the water will flow.  Writing will be easier.  Everything will be easier.

What do you do when you need to prime the pump and get the water flowing?

  1. August 1, 2014 at 6:22 am

    I think you are the inspiration to keep me trying to succeed with my blog. I went well for quite a while, then went dry. I didn’t write for almost a year, then I was asked to do a guest post for Adrienne – Bible Warrioress. That seemed to help me come back to life.

    However, getting me to look back at my early childhood with my Grandfather has reminded me of all the lessons he taught me about life, so I am now attempting to put those in print. It is hard because I get little feedback, so I really don’t know if they are being read or not.

    You are an inspiration to me!

    Ed

    • August 5, 2014 at 9:51 pm

      Wow, thanks Ed. I don’t think about myself in a way that would inspire anyone. I appreciate the kind words.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    August 1, 2014 at 8:19 am

    I’m not the one to ask – I’ve got blogger’s hangnail.

    • August 5, 2014 at 9:52 pm

      Heck, Ricky, you have a couple of the best reasons to not be consistent right now. They are much more important than anything you can write.

  3. August 1, 2014 at 5:13 pm

    Hard to even spit when the well is dry. Praying for you as you refill the well.

  4. August 2, 2014 at 8:18 am

    I read and just try to look at life through “weird” eyes. I look for anything, and I mean anything, that will give me ideas. Keep up the good posts though Larry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

