Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Set Spiritual Goals?

Do You Set Spiritual Goals?

I’ve been trying to set some spiritual goals lately and I’m going to let you in on a secret.  It’s tough.  The thing about goals is that they should be SMART.  I can set specific goals.  They can be attainable, realistic and time-based.  Where I find it tough is in how to measure them. How do I know if I’m actually attaining anything spiritually?

I’ve written about my Fitbit.  It counts my steps for me.  I know everyday how many steps I have to hit my daily goal.  I know what I have to do to maintain my weekly total.  Besides that, I can measure other things to find out if I’m meeting physical and health goals.  I can check my pulse, my blood pressure and my weight.  I can set goals for those things and see what moves the needle on these things.

So, today’s post is short.  Do you set spiritual goals?  How do you measure them?  How do you know if you achieve them?

Do you set spiritual goals?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. August 5, 2014 at 6:17 am

    Yes, I set spiritual goals! The only way I know how to measure them is by the peace I am given in my heart and soul, the more peace and contentment the more I am achieving my goal.
    I don’t know if this is what you are asking, but that is what works for me.

    Ed

    • August 5, 2014 at 9:59 pm

      I’m not sure how I make that work for me, Ed. What makes it difficult to me is that it all comes down to a relationship and I don’t know how to set goals and measure those.

      • August 6, 2014 at 6:36 pm

        Are you saying you are not sure of your relatonship with God? There are no ways that I know of to measure the quality of a relationship, so how can you set goals? A relationship with God is so personal , only you can judge how well you are doing. Doing God`s will to the best of your ability, and you know if you are doing your best.

      • August 7, 2014 at 6:48 pm

        No, I’m just saying I would love some metrics that told me what I was doing was doing some good.

  2. August 5, 2014 at 7:59 am

    I don’t set spiritual goals. I set goals to help me in my growth, but to say “this is my spiritual goal” I can’t do. I don’t know if there is a qualifier for that (a measuring point).

    • August 5, 2014 at 10:00 pm

      I would be interested in what you do there, Bill.

  3. robshep
    August 5, 2014 at 10:27 am

    I don’t really set goals. I have disciplines that I practice like reading the Bible every day, praying, and reading an extra book that challenges me in my faith, but I don’t have goals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

