Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > How I Felt About Robin Williams Death

How I Felt About Robin Williams Death

I remember Robin Williams, first, for his first appearance as Mork from Ork on Happy Days way back in the 70’s.  Later, the spinoff show, Mork and Mindy, starring Williams and the future Mrs. Mark Harmon taught us all how to “Nanu, Nanu.”

I was shocked when I heard about Robin Williams’ passing.  I wasn’t aware that he had faced depression, but neither was I surprised.  He had faced many demons.  His life had been a roller coaster, full of ups and downs, highs and lows.  I was truly saddened to learn that he had taken his own life.

None of us can truly know what those who experience mental illness go through.  However, I feel like I can come as close as anyone.  I grew up with a family member who experienced mental illness.  I witnessed first hand the life of someone who was ill in ways that most of us never will be.  I could feel the stares of people who didn’t truly know what was going on.

Based on my experience, I totally understand Robin Williams forsaking his medication.  I don’t think that anyone who is mentally ill truly believes that they are.  I don’t think they can comprehend what is happening to them.

I face enough melancholy in my life that I would never want to face true depression.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to live with that day in and day out.

I hope that Robin Williams knew the Lord and I wish that for all who are mentally ill.  It won’t necessarily fix or heal their condition, but won’t necessarily not either.

I hope for treatment that works for those who are sick.  I hope that they would accept their condition and the treatment that will alleviate their symptoms.

Most of all, I hope that they would have what I have and am afraid that Robin Williams did  not.

Hope.

I have hope in Christ.  And I hope that for  the mentally ill and the mentally well.

Have you ever known anyone who faced mental illness?

  1. August 13, 2014 at 5:10 am

    As a pastor I have known people. I have not known anyone in my immediate family who has. The wife of an uncle but very removed from her. I too have hope in Christ. I wish that for all.

  2. robshep
    August 13, 2014 at 10:32 am

    Yes I have. Both in the church world and family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

