Home > Christianity, Faith > But I’m Not Jesus

But I’m Not Jesus

A wife discovers that her husband is cheating on her.  He confesses to his sin.  She has a couple of choices to make.  The easy choice, the choice the world would expect her to make is to leave him.  The other choice, the harder choice, is to forgive him, reconcile and work on the marriage.

What would Jesus do?  What would Jesus want her to do?

No matter what, He would want her to forgive.

She might answer that by saying, “But I’m not Jesus.”

*****

A son spends his life with a distant father.  The dad isn’t cruel.  He just doesn’t spend any time interested in anything the son loves.  They eventually drift apart, the son with pent-up anger, wondering why his dad always had time for his own interests, but not the son’s.

What would Jesus do?  What would Jesus want him to do?

No matter what, He would him to forgive.

The son might answer that by saying, “But I’m not Jesus.”

*****

A deacon and Sunday School teacher in the church makes some mistakes.  Without warning, he is not retained as a teacher.  The way things are handled, he is forced to leave his longtime church..

What would Jesus do?  What would Jesus want him to do?

No matter what, He would want him to forgive.

He could answer that by saying, “But I’m not Jesus.”

*****

He hung on a cross dying.  He had been beaten to a pulp.  Spikes had been driven in to his hands and feet to hold him in place.  Several thought went through His mind that day.

What would Jesus do?  What would the Father want Him to do?

“Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.”

He couldn’t answer them by saying, “But I’m not Jesus.”

Do you  live like you’re not Jesus?

  1. August 18, 2014 at 5:23 am

    I try not to. I am flawed so there will be those times I fall short. I’m not Jesus. But He is and that is all the reassurance I need.

  2. August 18, 2014 at 8:08 am

    I am not Jesus, but He is who I strive to emulate. I know that, through the glory of God, He will guide me on my path.

  3. robshep
    August 18, 2014 at 9:36 am

    I recently read a quote that said “Most of us avoid spending time with people that Jesus died for.” I am not Jesus but I want to live like Him in a way that draws people to God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

