Home > Blogging > I Lost Track

I Lost Track

It’s about 9:30 on Tuesday night.  I was thinking about going to bed.  The last few weeks have been brutal.  Up before 5.  Andrew to school for an early bird strength and conditioning class by 6:45.  Running three miles and to my desk by 8;30 to start my work day.  I’m a little tired.

I thought I ought to look at my blog post that I had scheduled to post for Wednesday.  To my shock, there was not one.  I thought I had one written, in my hip pocket, ready to go.

I didn’t.  I have a couple I want to write and  about one hundred ideas written down.  But I didn’t have one ready to go.  I was about to let my buddy, John,  who reads this blog about 1 a.m., down.  What would he do if I didn’t show up every morning?

I lost track.

I think that’s what happens to us in life sometimes.  We come out of the gates with a head of steam.  Somewhere between 21 and 46, we too often forget where we were headed.  We show up thinking we have a blog post ready to go out.  We reach into our gym bag and realize that we forgot our socks.

We can either coast through life and wake up with it being too late one day.  Or we can realize it’s just going to be a season, maybe even football season, that will be over soon.

I lost track, but tomorrow will be a new day, perhaps a day for cutting off noses to spite our faces or where leopards may change its stripes.

Have you ever realized at the last-minute that you had lost track?

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. August 20, 2014 at 5:40 am

    I think we all lose track once in a while.

  2. August 20, 2014 at 6:34 am

    Without a doubt. Sounds to me like some downtime is necessary for you. Take a day off running. Go out with Jan on a date. Stay home from work. As if… LOL

    • August 21, 2014 at 9:29 pm

      I’m taking next Friday off and have a lonnng weekend.

  3. David Anderson
    August 20, 2014 at 10:32 am

    I like how you think cycle guy.

  4. robshep
    August 20, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    Yup. A little different scenario but I was driving this morning to meet my trainer and was mindlessly driving to his old studio. By the time I realized it I was 5 minutes out of the way and ended up being 5 minutes late.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

