Home > Christianity, Faith > Why Sitting Is Bad For You

Why Sitting Is Bad For You

Over the past couple of years, I had gotten lazy.  I wasn’t running like I used to.  My energy was getting lower and lower.  I couldn’t do some things I normally could.  I was getting fat.

I read a book a couple of months ago called Eat Move Sleep.  One of the main points is that we need to move as much as possible.  We need to get up out of seats and get going.  Sitting is literally killing many of us.

EatMoveSleep

I started moving a couple of months ago and I can tell a difference.  I’ve lost weight.  My stress levels are better.  I am back to running several miles each day, not to mention the walking I’ve added on top of that.  I can recover much quicker from my exercise.

Sitting isn’t killing me any more.

*****

Sitting can kill us spiritually too.  The Bible tells us so.

Blessed is the man  who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands int he way of  sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers

The way of the wicked is the destruction.  This person is not blessed.  Instead, he or she is on the way of death.

It begins subtly enough.  Walking with wicked.  Standing with sinners.  Sitting with scoffers.  The progression doesn’t end any better than slowing down and sitting physically.

We can kill ourselves physically.  We can kill ourselves spiritually.

All from sitting.

Have you ever found yourself sitting when you should be moving?

 

 

  1. August 23, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    Just read this Larry. I don’t sit very well unless I have been exercising.

  2. August 23, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    Good reminder…

  3. skacyoung
    August 27, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    In my tennis teaching, I often say, “wherever you are standing is the wrong place to be. Go somewhere”. I guess it is the same as sitting. I just read that sitting is the new smoking.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

