Home > Christianity, Faith > Dehydration

Dehydration

Yesterday I drunk 135 ounces of water.  In fact, for the past six weeks, water is about all I’ve had.  I gradually weaned myself off Diet Mountain Dews.  I wrote the following tweet yesterday as well.

After quitting Diet Mountain Dews and drinking 99% water over the last month, I realize I’ve spent the majority of my life dehydrated.

I wonder how much better my track and cross-country days would have gone if I have been properly hydrated.  Back then, we didn’t buy bottled water like we do these days.  We didn’t have fancy bottles and jugs that we would purchase to tote our water around with us.  In fact, back then, in my family, Coke was the norm and water the exception.

I would drink some water here and there from the water fountain throughout the day.  I would be thirsty after a run, but never thought about being dehydrated.

Now I drink a liter before I leave home for work every day.  Another bottle follows my run.  A few more throughout the day.  Another at dinner.  Water is one of my drugs of choice now.  I wake up craving water.

*****

The woman at the well was dehydrated.  She was spiritually dehydrated.  Even though she was drawing water at a physical well, the water she most needed was what Jesus offered her.  He would give her Living Water so that she would never thirst again.

You and I have been in that shape.  We have been spiritually dehydrated.  We have walked through a dry, dusty, thirsty world.  We were incredibly parched and we didn’t even know it.

We lacked Living Water.

Do you remember what it was like to be spiritually dehydrated?

  1. August 28, 2014 at 8:53 am

    Just wrote about this. 🙂

  2. August 28, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    I do , I do…glad I have the well with living water that is sweeter then any bottle water and the benefits are good enough to give away because there is always more where I got mine from. Good post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

