Home > Blogging > Small Changes Yield Huge Gains

Small Changes Yield Huge Gains

Jan and I sat down to watch Extreme Weight Loss on TV a few weeks ago.  This particular episode chronicled a pastor’s wife who was a former gymnast.  Over the course of raising her family, she had let herself go a bit.  She had gained weight and was very unhappy with where she was personally in life.

She was accepted on the show.  The first thing that happened was that she was weighed on national television.  The result was 305 pounds.  Her diet was altered and she began to work out.  In fact, her first workout was to do cartwheels across a fields.

After 90 days, she had lost 94 pounds.  Eventually, she lost a total of 165 pounds in a year’s time.  Dramatic results.  Yet each day was a small change.  No one day yielded huge changes.  It was the cumulative effect of each day’s work that this lady put in.   Small changes truly yielded huge gains.

*****

I’ve been making changes in my life since July 11.  Small changes.  I have been walking and running, increasing my totals each week.  In fact, yesterday I walked for 2.5 hours and 9 1/2 miles.  I would not have been able to do that six weeks ago.

I have quit drinking Diet Mountain Dews.  I did not quit drinking cold turkey.  I was consuming an obscene amount of DMD’s, something that I truly enjoyed.  I gradually weaned myself off, decreasing my total each week and replacing it with water.  After a month, my drink of choice 99% of the time is now water.

Instead of eating anything I want whenever I want, I now measure my calories.  I eat somewhere between 2,000 and 2,500 calories each day.  This causes me to weigh my options every time I want to eat something.  There are many things I would love to eat, but they would push me over my determined total for the day.

The results?  I have lost 16 pounds in six weeks and I have more energy than I have in some time.  I feel better than I have in at least two or three years.  I can stay awake longer without crashing at the end of the night.  The stairs are easier and I’m lighter on my feet.

I have a long way to go.

*****

What I’ve just described is possible with anything.  The problem, I think, is that we see the large changes that we want to make and feel overwhelmed my the enormity of the changes we seek.

We want to read the Bible through the year, but give up when we hit Leviticus.

We want to run a marathon, but quit when we fail the first time we run a 5K.

We want to do 100 push-ups, but can’t complete 25.

Whatever our goal is, we can reach it.  How?

By making small changes daily that yield huge results.

What large goal do you want to achieve that you can achieve by making small, daily changes?

Categories: Blogging Tags: , , ,
  1. September 2, 2014 at 5:38 am

    Excellent post Larry. I did this when I got back on my bike after knee surgery. Slowly but surely added miles to it. From 10 to 11 to 12 to 15. It took several weeks but it happened. As for your question: I’m trying to figure that one out.

  2. robshep
    September 2, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Great post! I want to write a second book and I want to lose weight. Your counting calories actually inspired me to start using that feature on FitBit. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. jonstolpe
    September 2, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    Great post, Larry! I want to write a book, but it will take small steps to reach this reward. Thanks for the reminder, and congrats on your results so far. Keep it up!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

