Home > Christianity, Faith > Are You ALL IN?

Are You ALL IN?

Like so many things, my reading has taken a hit lately.  I’ve been busy and I have been slack in reading like I truly want to.  However, I have been able to knock off a few books.  Mark Batterson’s All In is one of them.

Batterson labels this book as a sort of sequel to The Circle Maker, which I read a couple of years ago.  The subtitle and theme are that you are one decision away from  a totally different life.

I’m sure that Batterson and I don’t agree 100% on our theology.  I’m sure we are different in many other ways.  I’m guessing he’s an extrovert and I lean much more toward being an introvert than him.  However, based on what I know of his life, he is “all in”  in regard to his relationship with Christ.

Basically what Batterson is getting at is that too many of us are holding back and holding out from having the relationship with Christ we can have.  He gives countless examples of folks we know from the Bible, regular people really, who were all in their relationship with the Lord.

Some may ask, “Why do we need a book like this?  Don’t we have the Bible?”  I like to think of it in terms of what Zig Ziglar had to say about motivation.  It doesn’t last, so he recommends it daily.  So, yes, we should feast on the Bible.  We should also fill ourselves with books from those who feast on the Bible as well with us.

Give this book a try.  If you like it, let me know.  If you don’t, well, it just isn’t your taste.

Have you ever read anything by Mark Batterson?  Have you read this one?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. September 3, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I’ve read a couple by Mark. My favorite was “In a Pit with a lion on a snowy day.” Just last night someone gave me Circle Maker. I was not thrilled with reading it when it came out but since someone gave it to me as a gift, I will read it.

  2. jonstolpe
    September 3, 2014 at 9:31 am

    I haven’t read this one, but I’ve read a few others by Batterson: The Circle Maker, Primal, and In the Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day.

    • September 4, 2014 at 9:35 pm

      I’ve not read those others. I need to check them out.

  3. robshep
    September 3, 2014 at 11:59 am

    One of my all time favorite books is In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day. LOVE that book.

  4. September 5, 2014 at 6:25 am

    Have you read Wild Good Chase. Loved it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

