Home > Blogging > I’m Going To Beat Negativity

I’m Going To Beat Negativity

The first person to actually tell me I was negative was a manager of mine in 2003.  Of course, I didn’t believe him.  Not at first.  In fact, I was made to begin with.  Gradually, though, I saw what he was talking about.  I slowly, and surely, began to change.  I took on a more positive outlook on life.

*****

A few months ago, someone came to me needing to talk to me.  This person related to me the perception someone else had of me.  They felt I was a curmudgeon.  Wounded, I walked away from that conversation wondering how I had this reputation.  I slowly, and surely, began to change.  I took on a more positive outlook on life.

*****

I was raised to be negative.  It was the environment I grew up in.  I thought it was natural to have disdain for others.  I thought everyone else was fake and I was the only honest person in the world.  Negativity was my friend.

*****

How did I overcome all of this negativity in my life?  The truth is that I haven’t.  It still lurks there, waiting for its opportunity to burst out of the shadows and remind me that it’s still around, that I will never truly eradicate it.

However, I can fight it.  In fact, I do every day.

I fill myself up with positive material at every opportunity.

I don’t wait to be motivated.  I seek it out and work for it daily.  Like Zig Ziglar said, motivation doesn’t last.  Neither does bathing.  That’s why we should do it daily.

I won’t always win the battles, but I’m determined to win the war.

I’m going to defeat negativity.

Do you trend toward negativity or positivity?  How do you win?

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. jonstolpe
    September 4, 2014 at 5:47 am

    “This is the day the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.”

    I’d like to think I tend to be more positive than negative. I think part of it comes from a realization of just how blessed I really am.

  2. September 4, 2014 at 9:49 am

    I was raised with an above average environment of negativity. After I left home and married and began to make my own way, I would go home and hear it. I determined NOT to be that way. I do my best to be a positive person and not allow negativity to get a foothold.

  3. robshep
    September 4, 2014 at 10:08 am

    Thanks for being so transparent. Negativity breeds negativity. It’s a cancer. Even the most positive person is effected by negative groups. I hope that I’m positive. I try to be an encourager. I can be critical so I know that I have to work hard at guarding my tongue.

  4. Jon Stallings
    September 4, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    I have to admit I can tend to be a bit negative. But as I have grown older I have decided I really want to enjoy every last bit of life. -That is hard to do when you are always looking for and expecting the negative. I have worked hard to change my perspective. Much of the credit goes to the work of the Holy Spirit. I also have cut way back on negative inputs – For me it was the news and talk radio. Many days it is just a choice. Some days I make the right choice others not so much.

    • September 4, 2014 at 9:33 pm

      Cutting some things out is a great way to remove negativity. The key is being self-aware. Good job.

  5. September 5, 2014 at 6:23 am

    Thank you for your honesty, Larry. We all struggle with something…a thorn that we continually must choose to give over to HIM. Love this. “I don’t wait to be motivated. I seek it out and work for it daily.” Being willing to run to him everyday, that’s the key.

  6. skacyoung
    September 5, 2014 at 6:27 am

    My kicker is that I notice what I said five minutes later not five seconds before. I reread the verse about stop grumbling and complaining, but still struggle. I also need to be intentional with ever conversation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

