Home > Christianity, Faith > What Lens Are You Looking Through?

What Lens Are You Looking Through?

Eighth grade was a good year.  I take that back.  There were two major things that made it a bad year.

First, this was the year I got braces.  Not just sometime during the year.  Shortly before picture day.  So there, for the first time in all my glory, was a picture of me in my braces.

Something worse happened later.  My uncle had questioned it a few times earlier when he took me to ball games.  I couldn’t see the scoreboards and a teacher figured it out as well when I couldn’t see the chalkboard.  It was time to get, on top of braces, glasses.

Suddenly, I could see again.

*****

The world looked completely different.  I could read scoreboards.  And stop signs.  Many other things that would come in handy as I grew closer to driving age.

The difference was the lens I was looking through.  It enabled me to see

*****

No matter what I write on this blog, I’m looking square through a lens.  Jesus is that lens.

He said that He was the Way.  That means He is the directions we must go.

He might as well have said that He is the Lens.  He is how we should view the world.

*****

Whether I write something purely from scripture like I will Sunday or whether I write something that is simply my attempt to motivate or provoke you, it is all through the lens of Christ.

What lens are you looking through?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. September 5, 2014 at 6:20 am

    Great reminder, Larry. His perspective changes everything. I too, was as braces and glasses wearing 8th grader. Fun times. 🙂

  2. September 5, 2014 at 11:10 am

    Same lens as you brother.

  3. September 5, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    I got glasses in 8th grade… braces (and continuously losing my retainer) came later. I wasn’t looking through the lens of Christ then, but I am now. Always a good word from you, Larry. 🙂

  4. September 6, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Only one really clear lens to look through and you named HIM. Ha got you beat! 4th grade for me with glasses. However, my braces came at age 57 (I think)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

