Home > Christianity, Faith > I Wanted To Drink A ……

I Wanted To Drink A ……

I woke up so tired Sunday.  I was worn out.  I had a hard time getting going.  I felt my eyelids getting heavy at church.  I took a very, very long nap Sunday afternoon.

I wanted to drink a Diet Mountain Dew so bad.

One wouldn’t hurt me, right?  I could drink just one.  One wouldn’t be bad.  That’s all.  Just one.  Just to get me through the day.  One cold Diet Mountain Dew that would give me that initial burn that feels so good.

The problem is that I’ve done that before.  Quit drinking Diet Mountain Dews, that is.  I’ve told myself a few times that I would just drink one.  The result?  Years of over-consumption.

Would it hurt anything?  Yes, I think it would.

*****

The other day a memory surfaced.  I have no idea what triggered it.  It was just there.  Just like yesterday.  I could taste it.  I could smell it.  I wanted one so bad.

I wanted to drink a beer.  Coors Light to be specific.

I haven’t had a beer in twenty-three years now.  One wouldn’t hurt me, right?  It wouldn’t be a sin.  One wouldn’t get me drunk and out of control.  Except.

Except that the last time I drunk a beer, I didn’t just drink one.  I drunk several.  I lost control.  I got drunk.

It was like that every time I drunk beer.  I couldn’t just drink one.  I had to drink a bunch.

Would it hurt anything to drink one?  Maybe not, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t stop with one.  So, yes, I think it would.

*****

I started listening to Bluegrass music again a few years ago.  I wasn’t satisfied with just listening.  I had to buy a mandolin and start taking lessons.  I had to go to festivals and concerts as often as I could.  I had a favorite band.  I traveled around following them to many places they were playing.

Just over a month ago, I began running and walking.  A lot.  I have to get 20,000 steps each day.  I can drive my family a bit crazy if I don’t.  Yesterday, between running and mowing, I got over 30,000.

*****

It seems that I can’t do much of anything in moderation.  When I start doing something, whatever it is, I jump in with both feet.  It’s probably a good thing that I was terrified of drugs.  I would have become addicted or worse.

I’ve done it many other areas before.  And here’s the point.

I need to do this with Jesus.  Not church.  Not the form of religion.  Jesus.  If I became more obsessed about him like I have some of the other things, maybe I would be further along in my relationship with Him.

Maybe I wouldn’t find myself having the anxieties I do.  I wouldn’t be afraid in some of those moments when I have the opportunity to share Him.

There are hundreds of other examples.  But He is the main one.  I want to grow stronger in my love for Him.  I want to pursue Him more than I would a Diet Mountain Dew, beer, mandolin or my steps.

I want to drink His Living Water deep every day.

What do you want to drink?

  1. September 9, 2014 at 5:04 am

    Diet Dr Pepper is my drink of choice. Dr Pepper 10 is becoming it even more but fortunately it is not in anything but bottles and cans. I too obsess about some things. I get that way with cycling. I’ve often asked myself why I don’t get that obsessed with Jesus and have no answer.

  2. skacyoung
    September 9, 2014 at 5:06 am

    You hit the nail on the head. I need to cultivate a heart that beats with God’s heart.

  3. robshep
    September 9, 2014 at 10:10 am

    I wish I got that way with things that were good for me. My list only includes things that are bad.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

