Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > How To Live A SMART Life

How To Live A SMART Life

I have lived life for nearly 46 years now.  Next month I will hit that mark.  I’ve got a secret to tell you about the majority of those years though.  Lean in.  Listen close.  I’ll just say this once, barely above a whisper.

Most of those years have been spent living a DUMB life.

*****

What do I mean by a DUMB life?

Disengaged

Unfocused

Mediocre

Bitter

Just plain DUMB.

Somewhere along the way I grew tired of it.  I decided to flip the script.  I found a new path to pursue.

I wanted to live a SMART life.

*****

What is the SMART life?

It is a life where one is Self-aware.  You learn who you are.  Your strengths.  Weaknesses.  Warts.  Your build your strengths and manage around those blind spots that can trip you up.

The SMART life is where one is Motivated.  By motivated, I don’t mean a life where you just wait around for motivation to happen.  That is a myth.  It doesn’t just come along to pull you through life.  Motivation is something that must be sought out and is unique to each individual.

Living the SMART life means that one keeps their Attitude in check.  We all have choices to make every day.  One of those is to have a good attitude or a bad attitude.  We can rewire our brains to be positive even if we have been negative for most of our lives.

The SMART life is one that also give.  The SMART person Reassures and encourages their fellow man.  They do this even when someone doesn’t seem worthy of such action toward them.

Finally, the SMART life is made up of Trust.  This isn’t blind trust.  It is trust in someone other than one self.  It is trust in the Lord, even when others think that you are crazy.

*****

This is the life I’m chasing.  I’m not there yet.  I find myself slipping into DUMB mode at times.  It’s at those times that I have to remember to be SMART instead.

Are you living the SMART life?

  1. September 10, 2014 at 5:33 am

    Misery loves company. Or is that DUMB loves company. I’m tired of keeping companies with “losers.” I’ll join you in the SMART life.

  2. September 10, 2014 at 6:10 am

    I thing we all would like to say we are living the SMART life and I’ll bet we all have been in the DUMB category.
    After almost 71 years living life, on both sides, I can say I am doing my best to live for God. I have been a Christian for 59 years now and can say it does get easier as you turn everything over to Him. Since He is involved in every second of our life, it is only SMART to follow His lead and guidance.

    It is not as hard as you think!

    With His love, have a wonderful day!

    Ed

  3. robshep
    September 10, 2014 at 9:45 am

    You seem to be living pretty smart to me. I know dumb and you my friend are not living it.

  4. September 17, 2014 at 1:47 am

    This reminds me about the importance of self-leadership. Making sure we are leading and managing our self’s before we try to influence others. Great read here!

    • September 19, 2014 at 5:31 am

      Thanks Dan. We can’t take care of others until we take care of ourselves.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

