Home > Blogging, Health and Fitness > How I Walk/Run 20,000 Steps Everyday

How I Walk/Run 20,000 Steps Everyday

I have written about my FitBit before.  It has helped keep me accountable to my fitness goals over the last nine weeks and I’ve seen quite a bit of progress.  My energy levels are higher and my stress is lower.  I’m confident that my blood pressure and pulse rates have dropped as well. The big one is that I have lost 20 pounds during this time period.  However, at work, and on the Internets, I am asked one question.  In fact, I was asked this question at least twice last week.

How do you get so many steps?

The daily number of steps that are recommended is 10,000.  I double that.  Actually, my average is 24,000 steps.  So, if you are interested, I will tell you how I do it.

I wake up every morning at 4:30.  I shower and get ready for work between then and 5:30.  We are normally out of the house by a little past six.  During that time, I don’t sit down.  I am bustling about.  I make the bed and do any number of morning chores.  I often have 2,000 before I leave the house.

Once I arrive at work, I park as far away from the door as I can.  I walk a very circuitous route on my way to the company workout facility.  That adds another 1,200 steps to my total.

Once in the gym, I hop on the treadmill.  I normally run and walk a total of four miles.  This will add another 8,800 steps to my total.  Then, after another shower, I head to my desk.  By the time I sit down to begin my day, I have somewhere in the neighborhood of 11,000 steps.

After I work for a couple of hours, I have to get up and move.  Depending on the weather, I walk around the parking lot or do fifteen minutes on the treadmill.  This will somewhere in the neighborhood of 1,500 steps.

I usually go eat lunch  around 12:45.  After eating for about 30 minutes or so, I hit the treadmill again.  I walk for 30 minutes, which will be 1 1/2 miles or about 3,000 steps.  Then it’s back to work.

After hitting it for a couple of hours, I have to move again.  I spend another 15 minutes on the treadmill.  There’s another 1,500.

So far I’m up to 17,000 steps.  This doesn’t count the incidental steps I get from normal activity, such as walking to the bathroom or to other ares of the workplace where I have to go.

When I leave for the day, I take the same circuitous route that I walked when I came in for the day.  That will put me up to just over 18,000 steps.

With all of the other steps that I’ve gotten, I’m normally over 20,000 for the day.

Now the question is do I think that you should walk/run 20,000 steps every day?

No. Not necessarily.

I was talking to someone just a few days ago who maxes out at 7,000 each day.  That’s all her knees will allow her.  Guess what?  That’s great.  Each person has to determine how many steps they need or how much exercise they should get.

Here’s what I ultimately think you should do.

Exercise. Period.  Get moving.  It will make you happier, more energetic and healthier.  I believe it will improve every facet of your life.

Are you currently in an exercise program?  What impact is it having on your life?

  1. September 15, 2014 at 2:43 am

    I can only walk 1 mile a day before my feet start cramping at the ankles. On occasion I have walked 2 miles, but pay for it harshly the day after. Trying to get back into the gym, but home duties always take precedence.

  2. September 15, 2014 at 5:17 am

    I have told my wife “All work and no play makes Bill a very dull boy.” I have to move. While you walk; I ride. 20-25 whenever I can; as often as I can. When I can’t ride I try to get on the Bowflex. Winter is always a test.

    • September 15, 2014 at 9:36 pm

      Amen, Bill. I love that you cycle. I wish I did more of it.

  3. robshep
    September 15, 2014 at 9:38 am

    I try to get in 10K steps a day and I do weights 3 times a week. Walking hasn’t given me the same results as running did. My weight isn’t going up but it isn’t dropping off either.

    • September 15, 2014 at 9:35 pm

      My walking supplements my running. I try to get at least 3 mile of running in daily. I’m going to crank my running up even more in October.

  4. September 15, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Since July 30th, I’ve been doing this: http://www.mercola.com/infographics/what-is-peak-fitness.htm 3 times per week, and weight training 3 times per week. As far as impact, while I’m actually gaining weight my body looks slimmer and more toned.

    • September 15, 2014 at 9:35 pm

      I’m excited about what you’ve got going on there, Chad.

  5. September 15, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    I tell my students (I teach tennis) that wherever you are standing is the wrong place to be. I got a Fitbit in July and average just under 20,000. I agree with you that the Fitbit is a strong motivator.

    • September 15, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      Sounds like you’ve got a good average going.

  6. September 15, 2014 at 2:24 pm

    Thanks to my heart, I’m unable to do the walking thing much. I get to use a recumbent bike for now. One day, though, I’ll be back up and going.

    • September 15, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      It’s ok. Do as much of that recumbent bike as you can. Do what’s best for you.

  7. jonstolpe
    September 16, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    I am in a personal exercise program. I’m on track to run 1500 miles this year and exercise at least 250 days during the year. This helps me stay in shape.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

