Home > Christianity, Faith > What I Learned From U2’s New Album

What I Learned From U2’s New Album

If you didn’t know it, U2 released a new album last week.  It seems to have been in conjunction with Apple’s new product announcement.  It was free to everyone who has an iTunes account.  It impressed me so much that I finally created my own iTunes account.

A few days ago, someone I work with asked aloud how to remove this album from her own iTunes.  My question back was, “Why would you want to remove it?”  Her response was that she didn’t like U2.

At this point, my head about exploded for the first time.

Another person on my team chimed in that he didn’t like U2 either.  I didn’t put the pieces of my head and brain back together again.  I quickly proclaimed U2 one of the top five bands ever and we debated this friendly enough for a bit.

Of course, I couldn’t let it lie, so I went home and found that Rolling Stone listed them number 22. in their greatest artists of all time.  This included solo artists and bands.  Sure enough, they were near, if not in, the top five bands of all time.

****

Most people would probably be satisfied with being “right”, but that isn’t quite where I landed.  I didn’t really gain much satisfaction.  I’m a U2 fan and I have been for over three decades now.  I don’t really need validation for what I like.

Instead, it made me pause and think about how we like to rank things.  We like to make lists of the best and greatest of all time.  Soon, we’ll have all sorts of top ten lists for the year.  We just like to list and rank everything.

*****

Jesus faced this.  James and John’s mom came to him and asked that her boys get to sit beside Him in the Kingdom.  She wanted a place of honor for her boys.  She wanted them to top the list of the Twelve.

Jesus ended up telling them that it was not his decision to make.

*****

Let’s face it.  Most of us want to be number one.  We want to reach the top.  We may not have the capacity or ability to get there, but it doesn’t stop us from dreaming.  We want to be Jesus’ number one.  We want to be near the top of our business.  We long to be the favorite child.  You name it, we want to be number one.

In the Kingdom, there won’t be a number one.  Instead, Jesus is number one.  He’s at the top of the charts.  He’s on top of the world.

Just like He’s meant to be.

Do you ever struggle with wanting to be number one?

 

 

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , , ,
  1. skacyoung
    September 19, 2014 at 4:55 am

    I struggle with wanting people to like what I like. My restaurants, my movies, my teams, my opinions. I don’t understand how they can’t like what I like. I need to convince them to love God as much as I try to convince them to love the Kansas Jayhawks. That’s where I fall short.

  2. September 19, 2014 at 6:12 am

    As an 80s child and a fan from the very beginning, U2 will always hold a special place in my heart. Yes, I’ve struggled with this. At church, the other week we talked about how we struggle with the need to be known…we all desire this…it just comes down to Who knows us and embracing that. That’s what matters. That’s direction I need to keep my eyes and heart focused.

  3. September 19, 2014 at 7:46 am

    The answer is yes and the ongoing answer is yes. Not as bad as it once was but still there. As for U2, I have never really been a fan because I never really listened to their music. A song or two here and there but nothing consistently. Am I still a Christian?

  4. September 19, 2014 at 8:17 am

    For your coworker: https://itunes.com/soi-remove

  5. September 19, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    I’ve never struggles with wanting to be number one at all. Of course that’s because I’m a legend in my own mind. 😛
    No, really I haven’t. I like being the bottom guy. That way I am always forever grateful if someone higher gives me their seat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

